Weather Forecast


Serratore a finalist for Penrose Award

Nine coaches, including Bemidji State's Tom Serratore, have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the top NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. To be a finalist for this award, you must either be voted coach of the year in your conference or take your team to the NCAA Frozen Four.

It is the second straight year Serratore has been named a finalist. This season he was named College Hockey America coach of the year after guiding the Beavers to a runaway conference championship during the regular season.

The list includes three former Penrose Award winners: Enrico Blasi of Miami, who won in 2006, George Gwozdecky of Denver, who has won the award twice (1993 while at Miami and 2005 while at Denver), and Dick Umile of New Hampshire, the 1999 winner.

Miami's Blasi is the only finalist who is both a conference Coach of the Year award winner and coach of a Frozen Four semifinalist.

The award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships. It will be announced after the Frozen Four and presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of Men's Hockey Banquet on May 1 in Naples, Fla.

Spencer Penrose Award Finalists

Enrico Blasi, Miami

Mark Dennehy, Merrimack

Mike Eaves,Wisconsin

George Gwozdecky, Denver

Nate Leaman, Union

C.J. Marottolo, Sacred Heart

Tom Serratore, Bemidji State

Dick Umile, New Hampshire

Wayne Wilson, RIT

Jerry York, Boston College