Weather Forecast


Edina, Breck win state hockey championships

ST. PAUL (AP) -- Jake Sampson had a goal and an assist to lead Edina to a 4-2 victory over Minnetonka in the Class 2A boys state hockey championship on Saturday night, giving the Hornets their seventh state title.

Ryan Cutshall, Michael Sit and Brett Stolpestad also scored for second-seeded Edina (23-6-2), which jumped out to a 4-0 lead and hung on for its first state title since 1997.

Andrew Prochno scored both goals for Minnetonka (27-2-2), which was looking for its first state title. But the Skippers started way too slow a night after an exhausting four-overtime win over Hill-Murray in the semifinals.

Connor Girard made 18 saves for Edina.

"We had so many (pure)breds in the last two or three years and we couldn't get it done with the (pure)breds," Edina coach Curt Giles said. "Those were quality kids and quality hockey players ... To me, what these kids did was they proved they were good hockey players."

The Breck Mustangs have their place in history.

Mike Morin's deflected goal with 1:40 to play lifted Breck to a 2-1 victory over Hermantown in the Class 1A boys state hockey title game on Saturday. That makes the Mustangs the first team to repeat as champions in 16 years.

With the game tied, Morin rushed into the zone and split defenders before Hawks defenseman Jeff Paczynski swiped the puck away. But the puck bounced off Morin's body and past Hawks goalie Tyler Ampe to give Breck the go-ahead goal.

The last team to repeat as state champions was Bloomington Jefferson in 1992, 1993 and 1994.

Riley Borer also scored for Breck (29-2-0). John Russell made 30 saves.

Chad Bannor scored for Hermantown (27-4), which outplayed the Mustangs for most of the third period before Morin's goal.