Weather Forecast


BSU notebook: Cross Country team named national All-Academic

With a team grade point average of 3.52, the Bemidji State University women's cross country squad was named a 2009 NCAA Division II USTFCCCA Women's Cross Country All-Academic Team, announced today by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

The Beaver student-athletes contributing to the award were: Kristi Buerkle, Kendra Cobb, Kelli Christiansen, Sherisa Dickerson, Jessica Hanenburg, Alison Hougen, Genna Ironi, Tina Larson, Kirsten Maras, Annika Nelson, Michelle Ohman, Cierra Robinson, Shelly Saksa, Kayla Stursa and Pearl Walker.

For a team to be considered for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team award, they must have competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional Championship and also have a minimum 3.00 team cumulative GPA.

Bemidji State's Zac Preble and Kristi Buerkle departed Tuesday for the NCAA Indoor Track And Field Championships.

Competition opens Friday in Albequerque, New Mexico.

Preble will be competing in the heptathlon, which starts at 9 a.m. Friday.

Buerkle takes part in the 400 meter dash preliminaries at 4:50 p.m.

EMPORIA, Kan. - Due to inclement weather in the Emporia, Kan. area, today's game between Bemidji State University and No. 8 Emporia State University has been canceled. Tomorrow's nine inning game, which is scheduled for 3 p.m., is still on schedule.

The Beavers have also picked-up a game for March 12 with Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Mo. The nine inning contest is slated for a noon start.