Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Bemidji Pee Wees win Paul Bunyan International crown

The Bemidji Coca Cola Pee Wee A hockey team made history Sunday. For the first time in the 18 year history of its Paul Bunyan International Tournament, Bemidji took home the title, beating Crookston 4-2 in the title game.

Bemidji reached the final Saturday night with a 2-1 win over Rogers. Crookston sidelined Grand Forks 8-7.

Grand Forks took third place 4-3 over Rogers.

"It was fitting justice in a way," said Coach Neil Huewe, recalling the title game loss to Crookston four years ago.

Bemidji won Saturday's game in the final 42 seconds on a goal by Mikey Sauer off a Jake Leitner assist.

Cody Gumeringer scored in the first period from a Tanner Baker feed.

Grant Tharaldson had 14 saves for Bemidji. Rogers had 22.

The title game was far closer than Bemidji's 9-1 regular season win over Crookston.

Jack Johnson scored twice and Josh Lusby and Sauer had single goals.

Sauer, Matt Gregg and Jake Leitner had assists.

Tharaldson made 27 stops. Crookston had 25.

The sweep lifted Bemidji to15-3.

It heads to Grand Rapids tonight and to Warroad Jan. 10 with a home game with Moorhead Jan. 9 in between.

Ft. Frances took the Lumberjack Bracket title 1-0 over Cloquet.

St. Cloud shaded Hastings 3-2 in overtime for the Blue Ox Bracket title while Sioux Falls went into overtime to stop Virginia 8-7 in the Headwaters Bracket.


Championship Bracket


Rogers 0 0 1---1

Pee Wee A 1 0 1---2

Crookston 8, Grand Forks 7

Championship Crookston 1 0 1---2

Pee Wee A 1 2 1---4

Third Place Grand Forks 4, Rogers 3

Lumberjack Bracket


Ft. Frances 4, Hermantown 3

Cloquet 5, Keweenaw 0


Ft. Frances 1, Cloquet 0

Third Place Hermantown 2, Keweenaw 0 OT

Blue Ox Bracket


Hastings 4, Grand Rapids 3 OT

St. Cloud 4, Armstrong 1

Championship St. Cloud 3, Hastings 2 OT

Third Place Grand Rapids 4, Armstrong 3 OT

Headwaters Bracket


Sioux Falls 3, Detroit Lakes 0

Virginia 7, Baudette 0

Championship Sioux Falls 8, Virginia 7 OT

Third Place Detroit Lakes 5, Baudette 0