Weather Forecast


Blackduck football awards presented

Blackduck Head Football Coach Jesse Hickman and assistant coaches Jeremy Berg and and Kory Greiner are proud to announce the 2009 football letter winners. They would also like to express their appreciation to the parents and booster club for their support all year, especially Sandy Lein for her hard work throughout the season.

Tri-captains Todd Kallroos, Nick Andreas and Jake Olafson head the list of senior letterwinners. These three seniors earned their third letters as well as captain's stars for their contributions and leadership to the team. Alex Lossing earned his second letter while fellow seniors Josh RedDay, Logan Oelke, Zach Preston and TJ Butterfield earned their first letters.

Leading the list of junior letterwinners are Mike Dexter and Nick Liapis both earning their second letters. Other junior letterwinners were James Campbell-Eckdahl, Justin Bryant, Garrett Roberts and statisticians Danielle Heide and Erin Haws.

The sophomore contingent of letter winners includes four second year letterwinners: Alex Goodwin, Butch Strand, Galen Martin and Lucas Krabbenhoft. All four saw considerable varsity action as freshmen in 2008 and were mainstays on the team in 2009. The final sophomore letterwinner was first year player Peter Fraley.

Coach Hickman also mentioned that Andreas and Kallroos were selected to the Northern Plains All-Conference team while Dexter was named honorable mention. Kallroos and Dexter were selected to the Section 8A All-Section team though Blackduck did not qualify for the playoffs. Dexter led the conference in passing while Kallroos, Lossing, and sophomore Krabbenhoft were the three leading receivers in the conference.