Weather Forecast


13 Bemidji State football players named to All-NSIC teams

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced the all-conference teams and 13 Bemidji State football players were named to the team.

Of that group, five earned first-team honors.

Bemidji State's defense was one of the best in the NSIC and the country in 2009 and as a result, senior linebacker Jake Anderson, senior cornerback Tiger Ellison, junior defensive end Jordan Lardinois and junior defensive tackle Bryan Wick were selected to the All-NSIC North Division First Team Defense.

Junior quarterback Derek Edholm was named to the All-NSIC North Division First Team Offense.

Named to the All-NSIC North second team was sophomore center Cory Immerman, sophomore offensive tackle Davis Mickelson, junior wide receiver Andrew Schultz and junior linebacker Andrew Eagan and sophomore kicker/punter Jesse Sundby.

Named All-NSIC North honorable mention was freshman running back Dustin Kroeplin, freshman tight end Brian Leonhardt and sophomore safety Brody Scheff.

Edholm started in all 11 games this season and played a part in 33 of Bemidji State's 49 touchdowns this season.

He completed 61 percent of his passes for 1,662 yards and 25 touchdowns. Edholm ranked third on the team in rushing with 343 yards and eight touchdowns.

His 25 touchdown passes matches Geoff Martinson (2001) for third on BSU's single-season touchdown passes list.

Anderson led the NSIC with 10.5 sacks and finished second on the team with 69 tackles. He also had a team best 15 tackles for a loss.

Anderson led a defense that ranked 15th in the nation and finished allowing opposing offenses to 276 yards per game.

Ellison led Bemidji State with three interceptions and finished the season with 29 tackles. He also force one fumble and earned the all NSIC selection despite missing four games to injury.

Lardinois started all 11 games this season ad finished with 33 tackles with 12.5 tackles for a loss.

He led the Beavers with two fumble recoveries and forced one safety.

Wick anchored the defensive front at the critical nose tackle position in BSU's 3-4 defensive scheme.

He started in all 11 games and finished with 18 tackles.

The nose tackle in a 3-4 defense is critical in freeing up linebackers, so BSU's success in limiting opponents to 81 average rushing yards per game can be attributed in part to Wick's efforts.

BSU's rushing defense ranked No. 9 in the country to finish the season.

Minnesota-Duluth, overall NSIC champion and NSIC North Champion, led the conference with 13 first-team selections.

UMD running back Isaac Odim was named the offensive player of the year and Robbie Aurich was named defensive player of the year.

Other individual awards went to Southwest Minnesota State University's Ryan Ratekin (Offensive Newcomer of the Year) and Junior Aumavae of NSIC South Champion Minnesota State University (Defensive Newcomer of the Year).

Mankato's Todd Hoffner was selected as the NSIC's Coach of the Year.