Weather Forecast


Bemidji High football team will face Sartell in first round of state tournament

Sartell outlasted upset-minded Alexandria 20-18 Saturday night to win the Minnesota Section 8-4A football championship.

Sartell will meet Section 7-4A champ Bemidji at 6 p.m. Saturday in a quarterfinal game at St. Cloud State.

The 48-team state tournament field was filled over the weekend.

Brainerd knocked off No. 1 seed Buffalo 33-20 for the Section 8-5A title Saturday.

Among area teams, the 8-3A title went to Pequot Lakes 48-16 over Perham, a distinct difference over the Pats' 35-32 regular season win over the Yellowjackets.

Mora took the 7-3A crown 21-7 over Virginia.

Hawley continued to dominate the 8-2A ranks belting DGF 28-7 while Pierz shades Crosby-Ironton 13-6 in the Section 6 final.

Fosston, which gained a forfeit over illness-ravaged Warren late in the regular season, belted the Ponies 34-0 in the Section 8A final.. Mark Goss scored twice while Jake Juve passed for two scores and ran for a third. Goss ran for 115 yards and Juve for 77.

In Nine Man play ,Stephen/Argyle, which had its 12-year reign over Section 8 ended by Kittson County last year along with its 72-game win string,, regained the throne 2012 after absorbing a one sided setback to KCC in regular season play.

Orr needed overtime to shade Cherry 20-12 in Section 7 while Ada buried nearby Waubun 50-6 for the Section 6 crown.

Cromwell returned to the Section 5 title after a two year absence, the 14th section crown in Cromwell history.

In Section 4, Verndale shaded arch rival Bertha-Hewitt 26-24.

Hawley scored twice in the first quarter and held off DGF the rest of the night to take its fifth straight section title.

Waubun surprised Ada by recovering its own onside kickoff to start the game. But the Bombers did little else right, trailing 43-0 by halftime.

Unbeaten Ada has won every game this year by at least 35 points. It opens against Cromwell Friday at Duluth.

Pequot jumped to a 28-0 lead at the start and led 48-8 in the final period to dethrone Perham,

Two third period scores brought Verndale from behind into a 26-16 lead, just enough to get past Bertha-Hewitt.

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) -- Cal Clutterbuck and Mikko Koivu scored first-period goals and the Minnesota Wild held on to beat the Dallas Stars 3-2 on Saturday night.

Marek Zidlicky also scored for the Wild, which has won three of four.

Loui Eriksson scored twice on the power play for the Stars, who have allowed at least three goals in 11 of their 17 games -- including five of six.

The Wild, which played a poor first period in Thursday's loss to Vancouver, dominated early. They grabbed a 1-0 lead when Clutterbuck gathered a loose puck in the neutral zone and beat Alex Auld with a wrist shot from the right dot for the team's first short-handed goal this season. Koivu made it 2-0 late in the period, banking in a rebound off Auld.

Minnesota recorded the game's first 11 shots. Dallas, which had 87 shots in its last two games, didn't have one until more than 12 minutes had elapsed. The Wild finished with a 37-21 shot advantage.

Eriksson's power-play goals tied it in the second. His cross-crease pass was tipped in by Minnesota's Nick Schultz early in the period, and he later deflected in a slap shot by Brad Richards. The Stars have power-play goals in six of seven games.

Zidlicky gave Minnesota a 3-2 lead late in the period when his centering pass deflected off Auld's skate, and Nicklas Grossman tapped it into his own net.

Dallas 0 2 0--2

Minnesota 2 1 0--3

First Period--1, Minnesota, Clutterbuck 3 (Hnidy), 9:46 (sh). 2, Minnesota, Koivu 4 (Zidlicky), 17:58. Penalties--Fistric, Dal (delay of game), :15; Eriksson, Dal (tripping), 2:23; Burns, Min, double minor (high-sticking), 8:49.

Second Period--3, Dallas, Eriksson 7, 3:33 (pp). 4, Dallas, Eriksson 8 (Richards, Ribeiro), 15:51 (pp). 5, Minnesota, Zidlicky 1 (Brodziak, Kobasew), 18:12. Penalties--Koivu, Min (hooking), 3:26; Burns, Min (interference), 14:43; Morrow, Dal (diving), 18:42; Burns, Min (holding), 18:42; Dallas bench, served by Brunnstrom (abuse of officials), 19:18.

Third Period--None. Penalties--Belanger, Min (elbowing), 5:12; Modano, Dal (tripping), 6:00; Benn, Dal (roughing), 12:09; Koivu, Min (slashing), 15:01.

Shots on Goal--Dallas 4-10-7--21. Minnesota 17-9-11--37.

Power-play opportunities--Dallas 2 of 6; Minnesota 0 of 5.

Goalies--Dallas, Auld 2-2-2 (37 shots-34 saves). Minnesota, Backstrom 6-8-0 (21-19).