Weather Forecast


Bemidji High School cross country: Moorhead retains section championships

It was business as usual for the Moorhead cross country teams Thursday as the Spuds swept both titles at the Section 8AA meet at the Little Falls golf course.

The titles were the third straight for both units and their sixth overall in the 35-year history of the AA meet.

Bemidji finished ninth in the girls division and tenth in the boys.

Bemidji had no state qualifiers with Kim Truedson finishing 12th in the girls race the top finish. She was 16 seconds out of 10th.

Moorhead's girls shaded Monticello by two points for the girls crown, finishing with 87 points to 89 for Monticello. Alexandria, Sartell and Brainerd followed to complete the top five.

Heidi Peterson of Sartell, who handed Alexandria's Jamie Piepenburg her only loss this fall, did it again to take the crown in 14:51.1.

Piepenburg, the two-time defending champ, ended seventh in 15:20.38.

Erica Seidenkranz of Monticello was second, ten seconds off the pace with Haylie Zenner of Fergus, Hannah Kellerman of Sartell and Amber Seidenkranz of Monticello completing the top five.

Sartell, Monticello and Alexandria all had two state qualifiers. Moorhead had only one, freshman Tayler Janssen, who took 10th, leading a 10-16-19-20-22 finish.

Monty was 2-5-25-25-30.

Jenna Truedson was 13th for Bemidji trailing her sister by three seconds. Bailey Drewes was 39th, Hana Felix 90th and Alex Lyren 92nd to complete the scoring. The kickers were LeAnne Oakes 96th and Betsy Richards 99th.

The Truedsons, Felix and Oakes ran their best times of the season.

In the boys race, Moorhead finished with 55 points to 64 for Alex with Monticello, Brainerd and Sartell following.

Favored Lukas Gemar won in 16:33.14, eight seconds ahead of Jake Autio of SMA with Brainerd's Jimmy Dean, Zach Hodgson of Alexandria and Nathan Robeck of SMA the next three.

Moorhead, Brainerd and SMA had two qualifiers for the state meet. Moorhead ran 1-6-13-15-20 to take the title. Alex finished 4-11-12-16-21.

Andy Berube led Bemidji in 28th with Alex Schoneberger 34th, John Buckanaga 49th, Jake Urban 51st and Devin Danielson 64th to complete the scoring. Dan Clemenson was 65th and Dylan Jones 78th.

Jones and Richards will be the only runners to graduate this year with the boys running four juniors and two sophomores and the girls three sophomores, two freshmen and a seventh grader.


At Little Falls

Girls Division

Team totals: Moorhead 87, Monticello 89, Alexandria 98, Sartell 109, Brainerd 132, Little Falls 188, SMA 220, Rocori 232, Bemidji 246, Becker 257, Detroit Lakes 271, Fergus Falls 312,.Big Lake 314, Apollo 363 St. Cloud Tech 390, Sauk Rapids 439

State Qualifiers

1. Heidi Peterson, Sar.(14:51.43); 2. Erica Seidenkranz, Mont; 3. Haylie Zenner, FF; 4. Hanna Kellerman, Sar; 5. Amber Seidenkranz, Mont; 6. Manon Gammon-Deering, LF; 7., Jamie Piepenburg, Alx; 8. Kaitlin Yoerg, Beck; 9. Chelsey Richardson, Alx; 10. Tayler Janssen, Mhd.

Boys Division

Team totals; Moorhead 55, Alexandria 64, Monticello 122, Brainerd 137, Sartell 152, Detroit Lakes 167, SMA 169, Fergus Falls 216, St. Cloud Tech 230, Bemidji 236, Little Falls 277, Big Lake 328, Apollo 353, Rocori 394, Sauk Rapids 436

State Qualifiers

1. Lukas Gemar, Mhd. (16:33.14); 2. Jake Autio, SMA; 3. Jimmy Dean, Brd; 4. /Zach Hodgson, Alx; 5. Nathan Robeck, SMA; 6. Derrick Nelson, Mhd; 7. Chris Knutson, Brd; 8. Emmanuel Modi, SCT; 9. Alex VanHeel, Sar; 10. Scott Albares, Mont.