Weather Forecast


Bemidji HS cross country: Boys third, girls third at Bagley-Fosston Invite

It was deja vu for the Bemidji High cross country teams Tuesday.

The boys retained their title while the girls finished third once again at the Bagley-Fosston Invitational.

The meet was run over the Twin Pines golf course at Bagley.

Bemidji won the boys title with 45 points to 84 for Staples. Thief River, Pequot Lakes and Perham, completed the top five in a field of 16.

Bryan Schuldt of Nevis took individual honors with a 16:40.07 finish over the 5k route.

Gunner Johnson of Staples was 29 seconds behind in second.

For Bemidji, Andy Berube, John Buckanaga and Alex Schoneberger finished 8-9-10 with Dylan Jones 12 and Dan Clemenson 13 to complete the scoring. Jake Urban was 18 and Devin Danielson 31 as the kickers.

Park Rapids took the girls championship with 93 points to 95 for Staples. Bemidji was third with 104 in a tight finish. Baudette and Warroad completed the top five among 16 teams.

Lydia Lutz of Park Rapids was the winner, touring the 4k route in 15:37, nine second ahead of Kaytlin Roth of Staples.

Kim Truedson led Bemidji in fourth at 16:03.51. Jenna Truedson was sixth, Bailey Drewes ninth, Alex Lyren 41 and Amber Solheim, 43 in the adjusted standings.

Hana Felix was 47 and Betsy Richards 60.

The boys JV race went to Bemidji with 15 points to 78 for Perham with Trek North fifth.

Bemidji had a perfecto with Justin Byers, Ryan Erickson, Jake Fisher, Corey Huber and Tanner Asper finishing 1-5 with Byers timed at 18:49.80.

Bryce Blankenfeld was sixth, Scott Hulsebus eighth, Trent Buckanaga 11, Eric Johannsen 18, Josh Kane 19, Keegan Hilmer 26, Eli Rassler 32, Dan Kilday 40 and Alex Cole 45 in a field of 67.

Devian Liesener and Ivan Smith paced the Trek North team.

Trek North won the two team girls JV meet with 23 points to 38 for Warroad.

Chelsea Johnson was fifth as Bemidji's lone entrant. Kaitlyn Bakker led Trek North in sixth.

Bemidji also won the boys junior high race wit 26 points to 58 for Grand Forks Central in a 10-team field.

Keelan Murphy of Grand Forks won in 11:44.79.

Nick Hovila led Bemidji in third with Matt Glen fourth, Tony Sagedahl seventh, Devin Barrett 10 and Sam Carlson 13 to complete the scoring.

Kyle Sagedahl was 14, Erik, Sorenson 19, Tom Revering 22, Evan White 29, Matt Peske 34, Seth Neubeck 36, Kole Pankmow 47, Ben Burgess 76. Chris Washington 88, Kyle Krause 91 Joe Lukowski 103 and Evan Copiskey 106 in the large field.

Pelican Rapids took the girls junior high crown with 30 points to 36 for Thief River. Bemidji was third with 54.

Emily Bakken of Pelican won in 12:54.30 over the 3200 meter route.

For Bemidji, LeAnne Oakes was 12, California Thorson 17, Atomic Thorson 30,. Lexie Stenson 47, Liz Vik 48 and Susie Spears 49.

Their adjusted finishes, however, were 6-8-11-14-15-16.

Bemidji runs next at the Milaca Mega Meet Saturday.