Weather Forecast


Birchmont championship matches set

Jenna Cannon hits a shot during her semifinal match with Missy Tabery. Photo by Monte Draper.

Jenna Cannon wants to keep playing in The Birchmont.

Winning her semifinal match Friday to reach the women's championship is a good sign she will return next year.

"I work as an accountant at Nortech Systems and my boss said as long as I think I can win, he'll let me play," Cannon joked.

Cannon lives in Bemidji and did not grow up in the area, but has ties to legendary Bemidji golfer Bill Israelson. Cannon's mother is Israelson's sister.

Cannon finished runner up to 2006 champion Alyssa Williamson.

"It's nerve wracking to play in the championship match - I kind of get the shakes but it's okay. I have a lot of fun," Cannon said.

Canon advanced to Saturday's championship match by defeating Missy Tabery on Friday with a birdie on the 19th hole.

Cannon will face North Dakota State University golfer Rachel Roller for the title. Roller defeated Anne Fraser 2 and 1 on Friday.


Todd Schaefer will have a chance to become a three-time Birchmont Champion on Saturday.

He advanced to the championship match by defeating Bill Freeman of Alexandria 7 and 6.

Schaefer will defend his crown against Rick Passolt, who advanced to Saturday's title match by defeating Rob Noren of Bemidji 7 and 6.

Rick Passolt was the 2005 Birchmont men's champion.


Two-time defending senior champion Jack Seiberlich of Rush City was knocked out in the semifinals Friday.

Beating Seiberlich and advancing to the semifinals was Matt Anderson of Zumbrota with a 2 and 1 victory.

He will face Pat Vincelli, the Pine to Palm and Vandersluis veteran, in Saturday's championship.

Vincelli defeated Scott Curb of Bemidji 2 and 1.

Super senior

Meeting in today's super senior championship will be Rick Curb of Bemidji and Bryant Barnes of Shawnee Mission, Kan.

Curb defeated Ed LeBeau 3 and 1 in Friday's semifinals.

Barnes, last year's runner up, defeated Delbert Gangelhoff of Cass Lake 5 and 4.


Meeting in today's junior championship will be Sam Matthew of Roseville and Kevin Larson of Bemidji.

Matthew, the 2007 junior champ, advanced by defeating Trey Dale of Bemidji 1 up.

Larson defeated Rylee Curb 3 and 2.