Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Repeaters win five races at Speedway

Dalton Carlson won the Pure Stock feature Sunday for the second time this season Sunday at the Bemidji Speedway. Pioneer Photo/Dennis Peterson

The final races of June were held under cloudy skies and windy conditions Sunday at the Bemidji Speedway.

Repeat winners seemed to be the theme of the night, with five racers driving into the winner's circle for at least the second time this summer.

Next Sunday the track will focus on the military with service men and woman recognized for their service to our country.

Pure Stocks

Current point leader Cory Peterson held the pole with Dalton Carlson to his right for the star of the Pure Stock feature.

The young racers raced side by side for more than a lap before Peterson powered into the lead with Carlson, Bill Chaboyea, Wade Schmidt and Brandon Hilliard trailing in order.

Carlson charged forward running nose to nose with the leader and finally captured the lead pulling Chaboyea with him into second as the race wound down.

Carlson picked up the win, his second, with Chaboyea, Peterson, Schmidt, and Chris Isensee trailing.


Sunday night the Speedway experimented with a new class called the Hornets. The 4 cylinder front wheel drive mini stocks were small in number but put on a good show with each driver on the track holding the lead.

Joe Doty moved from last to first in the race taking the feature race after passing Jason Kolkin for the win. Cody Buchanan was third. Anyone interested in this new class should contact Mel Hayes at the speedway.

Mini Stocks

The Mini Stocks drove on track with Tim Barrett and Chris Dudley up front. A good start had the top three led by Barrett, Dudley and Dustin Knutson in a tight bunch racing around the track.

With Barrett out in front a dual developed between Dudley and Knutson with the two past feature winners running side by side for second.

In the mean time Billy Smith, another past winner, powered up on the outside to challenge the leaders.

Knutson had mechanical trouble and slowed into the infield on the front straight. Barrett, Dudley, and Smith were locked in battle for the lead coming out of turn four with Smith on the outside. Barrett slid up high into Dudley who then forced Smith into the wall bringing out the caution flag.

Barrett who had run a fantastic race to this point was sent tailback with Smith awarded the lead. Smith held on for the remaining laps to capture his second feature win. Dudley, Leahna Barrett, Neil Fleming and Derek Wangberg made up the top five.

Bemidji Streets

The every other week rotation with the Street class had the stocks on track next with Dustin Puffe on the pole and Mike Kuhlman outside.

Kuhlman, a past winner, took control early with Puffe, Don Bowman, Scotty Messner and Dan Severson trailing.

Messner powered up to challenge Puffe for second running door to door for two laps. Contact in turn four between Bowman and Puffe brought out the caution flag from flagman Lynn Johnson.

The restart was led by Kuhlman with Messner , Severson, and Puffe while Bowman drove to the pits. Messner raced inside in turn two into the lead on the restart. Severson raced hard to challenge for second but Kuhlman held him off preserving his second place finish as the top three crossed the finish line. Messner picked up his first feature of the summer at Bemidji with Kuhlman, Severson, Puffe and Bowman trailing.

Mod 4's

The Amsoil Dirt Track Series Mod 4's were next on track led by Darrin Lawler on the pole and Kevin Bahr to his right.

But it was Mike Bader who charged to the inside line around the track on the first lap to take over the lead after the first lap.

Lap two started with a spin in turn two sending Lawler tailback for a restart. Bader led the field with Kevin Bahr, Fran Hauber, Brandon Bahr and Ev Barrett trailing.

With Bader out in front the speedy Boy River area racer pulled out to a sizeable lead before another spin in turn four brought out the second caution of the race sending Barrett to the rear of the field.

The restart gave Brandon Bahr the opportunity on the back straight to pass Hauber for third and then when his dad Kevin drove high in turn two Brandon Bahr raced low into second. The race belonged once again to Bader who has won every Mod Four feature at Bemidji this summer.

Brandon Bahr, Hauber, Kevin Bahr, and Scott Dyrdahl rounded out the top five finishers.

Midwest Modifieds

Fifteen Amsoil Dirt Track Series Midwest Modifieds were led on track by Doug Voss and Al Sadek.

Sadek took the initial lead with Voss pulling into the back up spot. A quick caution slowed the race after one lap with a spin in turn four. Tim Jackson pitted and Bret Schmidt was sent tailback.

The restart had Sadek leading with Voss, Gary Nelson Jr, point leader Bryan LePier and Doug VanMill trailing.

Coming into the last turn on the restart lap Adam Gajeski slid sideways collecting Brandon Smith and Brian Bourquin in the process bringing another caution with all three pitting.

When the green flag waved, Nelson used the high side as well to take the lead, passing both Voss and Sadek.

Sadek, running in second, raced high on the back straight and both Voss and Schmidt were able to pass him late in the race for second and third. Schmidt and Voss dueled for the second spot with each taking the advantage at various places on the track.

Nelson cruised to his first Midwest modified feature win with Voss, Schmidt, Sadek and Kuhlman trailing across the finish line.

Super Stocks

The final race brought the Amsoil Dirt Track Series Wissota Super Stocks on track led by Chris Molash on the pole and Tal Lucken outside.

Second row inside starter Andy Davey powered by both front row starters using the inside line and pulling fellow second row starter Tyler Kintner with him into second. Mike Vajdl followed into third with Molash and Lucken making up the top five.

Gary Nelson Jr.'s success in the B-mods wouldn't be there in this race as his mod found the back wall bringing out the caution flag and a tow truck to end his night of racing. Molash also pitted for a quick tire repair and returned tailback.

On the restart, Vajdl raced up to run door to door with Kintner but Kintner stayed in the fast lane to hold him off..

Davey drove on to pick up his second feature win of the summer at Bemidji Speedway with Kintner, Vajdl, Lucken, and Molash finishing in the top five.


Feature-Dalton Carlson, Bill Chaboyea, Corey Peterson, Wade Schmidt, Chris Isensee, Brandon Hilliard

Heat 1 - Chaboyea, Carlson, J. Fairbanks, Peterson, Schmidt


Feature-Billy Smith, Chris Dudley, Leahna Barrett, Neil Fleming, Derek Wangberg, Tim Barrett

Heat-Dudley, D. Knutson, Smith, T. Barrett, L. Barrett


Feature-Scotty Messner, Mike Kuhlman, Dan Severson, Dustin Puffe, Don Bowman

Heat-Severson, Messner, Bowman, Kuhlman, Puffe


Feature -Mike Bader, Brandon Bahr, Fran Hauber, Kevin Bahr, Scott Dyrdahl, Darrin Lawler, Ev Barrett

Heat-Bader, Hauber, Dyrdahl, K. Bahr, Lawler


Feature-Gary Nelson Jr, Doug Voss, Bret Schmidt, Al Sadek, Mike Kuhlman, Adam Johnson, Skyler Smith, Doug VanMill, Bryan LePier, Brian Bourquin

Heat 1 - Schmidt, VanMill, Sadek, Nelson Jr, Smith,

Heat 2 - LePier, Tim Jackson, Voss, Kuhlman, Adam Gajeski


Feature - Andy Davey, Tyler Kintner, Mike Vajdl, Tal Lucken Chris Molash, Gary Nelson Jr, Matt Sparby

Heat 1-Kintner, Lucken, Davey, Molash, Sparby