Weather Forecast


Gordy Skaar/Wells Fargo golf tournament Friday

The 32nd Annual Gordy Skaar/Wells Fargo Memorial Golf Tournament will be held today at Bemidji Town & Country Club.

Shotgun starts will be held for both morning and afternoon rounds with golf beginning at 7:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Wells Fargo enters its 10th year as the tournament sponsor and proud supporter of Bemidji State Athletics.

This year's tournament includes 200 golfers that will attempt to dethrone last year's championship team of DuWayne Severson, Bill Enhauser, Joe Mayer, Gerry Douglas and Jim Cahoon.

The teams will play a five-person scramble format, which includes several on course games and events. One of those events a hole-in-one contest sponsored by Dondelinger GM of Bemidji. Over the years, the tournament has seen three hole-in-ones, however, no one has made an ace on the contest hole.

The Gordy Skaar/Wells Fargo Memorial Golf Tournament was started by Gordy Skaar, former owner of Skaar Distributing, as a means to raise money to award athletic scholarships to northern Minnesota student athletes.

After his death in 1992, the tournament was memorialized in Gordy's honor and the Skaar family continues to be heavily involved in the event.

Bernick's Distributing, the successor to Skaar Distributing continues to support the tournament on an annual basis as well.

This year, the tournament will recognize Vance and Susie Balstad as the honorary tournament chairs. The Balstads will be cooking Stittsworth brats at the halfway house.

The 2009 Gordy Skaar Memorial Scholarship will be given to Jordan Oien, who will join Jeff Tesch's Beaver football team this fall after a standout career at Clearbrook-Gonvick High School.

The tournament raises over $20,000 each year and has raised over $550,000 since its inception. In addition to funding the Gordy Skaar scholarship, the tournament serves as a major contributor to Beaver Pride, the fundraising arm for BSU Athletics.

In addition to the support of Wells Fargo, the tournament also relies on great support throughout the local business community.

Local businesses donate items to be awarded as door prizes or silent auction items.

This year's silent auction once again includes restaurant and hotel gift certificates, sports memorabilia, golf course certificates and tickets to professional and college sporting events.

The tournament also includes a brunch and walleye dinner for participants.

Should the public want to attend, tickets will be available for the evening meal.

For more information on the tournament, visit the Web site at or contact Beaver Pride at 755-2827.

2009 Gordy Skaar/Wells Fargo

Memorial Golf Tournament


Joe Dunn, Matt Bowen, Jeff Tesch, Tim Bellew, Pete Barthelemy. E. Joe Welle, Joseph Welle, Paul Welle, Bob Welle, Steve Hanson. Gary Gangelhoff, Jerry Davenport, Del Gangelhoff, Chris Leinen, Arden Thompson. Todd Daniels, Jerry Daniels, John Kirk, Steve Motzko, Jeff Nelson. Dick Beitzel, Keith Marek, Ken Schlichting, Ken Traxler. Al Zutz, John Buckanaga, Bucky Buckanaga, Mike Buckanaga, Bill Hagland, Mike Swan. Jeremy Tiers, Ken Raw John Vinje, Tim Hins, Kurt Knott. Bill Crews, Eric Longtin, Will Semke, Andy Ward, Tom Vagle. Bob Skaar, Gordy Skaar, Tom Johnson, TJ Johnson, Don Morse. Derek Hanson, Travis Haskell, Karl Jacobson, Joe Mooseburger, Jeremie Midboe. Rob Bollinger, Steve Hagenah, Judd Sondreal, John Bollinger, Evan Bollinger. Scott Robbins, John Carlson, Mitch Knutson, Mike Curfman, Dave Schultz. Dan Bergen, Dan Somrock, Scott Macleod, Larry Engebretson, John Dow. Darrell Barnack, Dan Christenson, Ken Corens, Rich Glas, John Phillips. Andrew Stauff, Dave Brown, Don Campbell, Troy Hendricks, Jim Richards. Jim Day, Wade Moen, Steve Richer, Brian Stull, Jared Stull. Greg Beaumont, Dave Hutchins, Michael Silk, Lloyd Stauff, Gary Wagner. Jim Sutton, Bob Seado, Al Swedmark, Shirley Seiffert, Sheri Kirkpatrick. Brett Bergene, Jon Eisele, Jamie Erb, Rick Lofto, Tim Nash. Bob Young, Ken Gutknecht, Kevin Onstad, Tom Runningen, Chris Schmitz. Josh Brodeen, Brian Hardwick, Mark Hebel, Gary Pieper, Mike Rybak. Corey Stittsworth, Kirby Stittsworth, Todd Curtis, Tom Gendron, Bob Walker. Mike Church, Eric Stromgren, Mike Bessler, William Tysver, Rob Anderson. Terry Burns, Bryan Grand, Ron Kostohryz, Howie Borden, Jim McElmury. Don Ross, Gary Ross, Steve Ross, Mike Tok, Jerry Phillips. Bill Howe, Marsh Johnston, Dick Robbins, Lowell Flatt, Don Niskanen. Joe Mayer, Gerry Douglas, Bill Enghauser, Mark Skaar, DuWayne Syverson. Ken Battles, Neil Cole, Bruce Olson, Ty Rosenau, Aaron Rybak. Dean Steinward, Steve Brekke, Wayne Morrison, Perry Hillman, Doug Taylor. Ryan Baer, Tony Burlingame, Eric Gilbertson, Kevin Barsness, Trey Bowman. William Blasczyk, William Blasczyk Jr., John Blasczyk, Aaron Braaten, Brett Dahl. Mike Christopher, Doug Fuller, Jim Smythe, Russ Moen, Carl Baer. Stub Carter, Vinny Huerd, Wes Kinneberg, Matt Stevens, Steve Carter. Tim Dondelinger, Kevin Geerdes, Bob Fitzgerald, John Dahl, Scott Tuomala. Phil Verchota, Tracy Pogue, Travis Barnes, Jerry Hemstad, Dave Bretschneider. Dave Erickson, Gary Erickson, Tom Serratore, John Torgerson.