Weather Forecast


Bemidji St. women's basketball schedule released

The Grinnell College Tip-Off Tournament, the Grand Canyon Thanksgiving Tournament in Phoenix, Ariz., and a pair of showdowns with the 2008-09 NCAA Division II Women's Basketball National Champion Minnesota State Mankato, headline the 2009-10 Bemidji State women's basketball schedule.

The schedule was released earlier this week by head coach Mike Curfman.

"Since our team is made up of primarily freshmen and sophomores and features just one senior, I thought it would be good to have some tournaments early in the season so they get used to playing back-to-back days," Curfman said. "The benefit of playing in early tournaments is it gives us a chance to get the feeling of playing on the road while bonding as a team."

Beginning the season is Dakota Athletic Conference (DAC) member Mayville State University, Nov. 17 in Mayville, N.D.

BSU will then have a weekend stay in Grinnell, Iowa as the Beavers compete in the Grinnell Tip-Off Tournament on Nov. 20-21.

The Grand Canyon University Thanksgiving Tournament closes out November (27-28) as BSU faces Western State University (Colo.) and Western New Mexico University in Phoenix, Ariz.

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) and home opener pits BSU against the first of five 2008-09 NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Tournament participants on the schedule with Minnesota State University, Moorhead on Dec. 4.

2009-10 BSU women's

basketball schedule

Nov. 17 at Mayville State

Nov. 20-21 at Grinnell (Iowa) Tourney^

Nov. 27-28 at Grand Canyon Tourney^

Dec. 4 MSU, Moorhead

Dec. 5 Minn.-Crookston

Dec. 12 at Winona State

Dec. 13 at Upper Iowa

Dec. 17 at Viterbo University^

Dec. 19 at MSU, Mankato

Jan. 2 Augustana

Jan. 3 Wayne State

Jan. 8 at Concordia-St. Paul

Jan. 9 at St. Cloud State.

Jan. 15 Northern State

Jan. 16 U-Mary

Jan. 23 Minn.-Duluth

Jan. 29 at MSU, Mankato

Jan. 30 at Southwest Minn. State

Feb. 5 Concordia-St. Paul

Feb. 6 St. Cloud State

Feb. 12 at MSU, Moorhead

Feb. 13 at Minn.-Crookston

Feb. 20 Winona State

Feb. 24 at Minn.-Duluth

Feb. 27 at Wayne St.

^ non-conference