Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

BHS softball team honored on awards night

The Bemidji High girls softball team was honored Thursday night at its annual Awards Night picnic.

The event was shifted at the final moment from Diamond Point Park to the Dale Thompson home in East Bemidji.

Special guests were the 14 members of the varsity tournament squad that posted one of the top records in Bemidji history.

It ended 19-4, losing both starts at the section meet after winning the sub-section title.

The 19 wins were the fourth highest in school history, four shy of the school record 23 set by the 2004 team.

Also on hand was the B Team that set a school record in finishing 16-2.

Coach Brad Takkunen served as emcee.

He pointed out that this year's team was the best hitting team in his 15 years at the helm, posting a team batting average of .365 with Kaia Sele leading the team at .500, Paige Jensen and Megan Gullickson topping .400, six others over the .300 mark and a seventh at .292.

Summer Monsrud, who was promoted in the final week of the year from the B Team, also ended at .,500 in 14 at bats.

The pitching staff ended with a 1.81 earned run average striking out 108 and walking only 19 in 151 innings of work. Chelsea Yost ended 11-2 and Jensen 6-1.

Takkunen topped the 200 win mark late in the year ending at 205-106 with his tenth straight winning year.

A number of players were singled out for special honors.

Sele was named the Most Valuable Player and Erika Weimann Most Improved.

Jensen was rookie of the Year with the senior transfer playing her only season at Bemidji.

Sele won the batting championship and Weimann the Golden Glove Award.

The Coaches Awards went to Brittany Thompson and Gullickson.

Sele, Meg Claypool, Gullickson and Yost were given their All Section awards with Sele named to the All State second team.

Prospects for next spring look extremely bright despite heavy graduation losses.

Replacements will continue to flow from the B Team which scored 220 runs in its 18 games, more than 12 runs per game, finishing in double figures 12 times with a high o f 32 in a 32-0 win over Eveleth-Gilbert.

Few of their contests lasted more than five in innings. Jess Yost (7-1), Taylor McLean (5-1) and Brianna Glynn (5-0) will join Weimann on next season's pitching staff.

Earning their 2009 soft ball letters were:

SENIORS: Meg Claypool, Megan Gullickson, Paige Jensen, Chelsea Yost, Kaia Sele Haley Johnson, Brittany Thompson, Amber Teal and Tara Ripplinger

JUNIORS: Chelsea Johnson, Emily Larson and Erika Weimann

SOPHOMORES; Summer Monsrud and Taylor McLean