Weather Forecast


BHS track sends three on to state

The Bemidji High boys track team finished a disappointing eighth Saturday at the Section 8AA track meet at Sartell.

The final 14 events were completed Saturday after four were run Wednesday at Alexandria along with preliminaries in six others.

Brainerd claimed its first boys title, dethroning Moorhead which had won the last three and was looking for its 20th.

The Warriors won with 117 points to 111Xc for the Spuds. Tech, Alexandrians and Sauk Rapids completed the top five.

Bemidji had 44½, well behind seventh place Monticello and well ahead of ninth place Big Lake.

The Jacks had recorded 15 Wednesday and were looking toward challenging for a top five finish. They scored 78½ in 2008 to finish fourth.

But they ran without two of their top performers, Travis Greenwaldt and Nate McGriff, McGriff sidelined with an injury.

He had topped the qualifiers in the 400 Wednesday while Greenwaldt was among the leaders in the100 and 200. Their loss also killed the chances of the 4 x 2 and 4 x 4 relays which had figured to score well.

Bemidji gained two more state qualifiers, however, with Erik Truedson winning the 1600 over Drew Paradis of Alexandria, reversing their finish in the 3200 three days earlier.

And Joe Kingery claimed the high jump at 6-4 to lead the field.

The two seniors will conclude their careers at the state meet at Hamline this weekend.

Otherwise. The Jack saw Pete Humeniuk take sixth in the 400, Alex Schoneberger eighth in the 800, while Kingery tied for eighth in the discus,

The 4 x 8 relay was the only one of the Jacks four units to score, taking fourth with John Buckanaga, Zac Oelrich, Matt Lee and Schoneberger.

Lee Dhein of Tech was a double winner in the 100 and 200, his second and third titles. He had won the long jump Wednesday. John Bye of Moorhead led in the high and intermediate hurdles.

The first and second place finishers in the individual events and winning relay teams advance to the state.

The section qualified in only one event by bettering the state standards with the second place Sartell 4 x 1 relay 14/100 under the qualifying mark.

Except for Truedson and Kingery, the meet ended the careers of one of Bemidji's finest seniors groups in many years.

Graduating were McGriff, Zac Oelrich, Chris Bowman, Greewaldt, Kristian Saugbjerg, Gentri Jordan, Luke Burns, Jake Robinson, Andrew Cable and Christian Graefe.

Twelve juniors, six sophs and three freshmen scored this spring.

The Bemidji High girls track team doubled its point total from 2008 but was only able to move up two places in the standings.

It ended with 24 points to take 12 among 15 teams at Sartell.

The final 14 events were run at that site after the first four finals plus six preliminaries took place Wednesday at Alexandria.

Brainerd retained its title with 100 points, edging Alexandria which was second with 92, Moorhead, St. Cloud Tech and Monticello rounded out the top five.

The title was Brainerd's fourth in the 34 year history of the meet. But all four have come in the past six years.

Bemidji had scored 11 points Wednesday on Selina Gilbertson's second in the discus and a sixth from Amanda Hunt in the high jump.

The remaining 13 came Saturday when Abby Hendricks finished third in the 300 hurdles and sixth in the 100's and Bailey Drewes took fifth in the1600.

Alexandria had the top individuals in Rosey Erickson and Jamie Piepenburg.

Erickson added wins in the 100 and 200 to her Wednesday championship in the long jump.

Piepenburg won the 1600 after taking the 3200 crown Wednesday. The freshman has dominated long distance events all year in both cross country and track.

St. Cloud Tech and Sartell each won two relays, Tech taking the 800 and 1600 and Sartell the 400 and 3200.

Only two runners broke state standards to gain this week's meet at Hamline. They both came in the 200 where Ashley Heinze of Moorhead and Briana Traut of Rocori topped the 25.95 qualifier with third and fourth place finishes.

Otherwise only the top two and top relays will compete at the state.

Gilbertson will make her first appearance at the state in the discus, Bemidji's sole qualifier.

The meet wrote an end to the careers of a small group of seniors, Jessy Bruns, Serena Glass, Emily Lawrence, Ingrid Vassbo, Sam Drewes, Suzann Nordquist and Laura Rogers, only Glass and Bruns among the team's top scorers. A promising group of underclassmen will be back with Bemidji expected to continue its improvement next spring.

The team banquet will be tomorrow night at 6 at the Commons.