Weather Forecast


Bemidji High School wrestling: St. Cloud Apollo ends Jacks season at sections

The Apollo Eagles ended the season for the Bemidji High wrestling team Saturday, handing the Jacks a 58-11 setback in the opening round of the 8-3A team tournament at Buffalo.

The Eagles then went on to take the title beating defending champ Buffalo 32-24 in the semifinals and stopping Brainerd 39-25 in the title match.

Despite being seeded second, Apollo was generally considered the team to beat.

The Eagles had defeated Bemidji 61-7 in a triangular at Little Falls in their only meeting this year.

Bemidji won one more match Saturday but saw Apollo emerge with an11-3 match split.

Five falls and three forfeits rolled up the final margin.

Colton Doty's major at 112 left Bemidji trailing 6-4 at the start.

But it was 18-4 when Drew Peterson won 10-7 at 130 and 40-7 before Corey Huber registered the final Bemidji win at 171 by a 15-1 score.

A forfeit and two pins widened the gap to 58-11 at the end.

Other first round winners were Alexandria over Moorhead 56-19, Brainerd over St. Cloud Tech 40-24 and Buffalo over Sauk Rapids 45-21.

Brainerd sent top seeded Alexandria to the sidelines in the semifinals 31-28 while Apollo sidelined Buffalo 32-24, then toppled Brainerd for the title 39-25.

"We wrestled as well as we could," said Coach Whelan, "but we don't have the horses to match Apollo. I feel they can very well place at the state meet as well as they are wrestling right now."

"Give us another year or two and I feel we will be back in the thick of the battle again."


First Round

Alexandria 56, Moorhead 15

Brainerd 40, St. Cloud Tech 24

Buffalo 45, Sauk Rapids 21

Apollo 58, Bemidji 11


Brainerd 3, Alexandria 28

Apollo 32, Buffalo 24


Apollo 39, Brainerd 25

- - - - -



103- Mitch Bengtson, Apo pinned Jake Crosby 0:32

112-Colton Doty, Bem. decisoned Grant Nehring 14-2

119-Alex Lawwell, Apo. won by forfeit

125-Nam Nguyen, Apo. pinned Kyle Johnson 1:34

130-Drew Peterson, Bem. decisioned Nick Stram 10-7

135-Clayton Athman, Apo. decisioned Cody Thoring 12-0

140-Austin Young, Apo. decisioned Kodi Craft 6-3

145-Brandon Padilla, Apo. pinned Derek Lofgren 1:50

142-Jared Morford, Apo. won by forfeit'

160-Nolan Rial, Apo. decisioned Travis Utley 11-6

171-Corey Huber, Bem. decisioned Chris Rochleleau 15-1

189-Matt Spoden, Apo. pinned Evan Olson 1:36

215-Sam koetter, Apo. won by forfeit

Hwt.-Matt Shaver, Apo. pinned Andrew Cable 0:42