Weather Forecast


Golf: Jenkins, Kvittem lead Vandersluis after first round of play

Bemidji native and BSU alumnus Tom Jenkins shot a five-under-par 67 to lead the field after the first round of qualifying in the 41st Vandersluis Memorial Golf Tournament Saturday at Bemidji Town & Country Club.

Jenkins, who reached the final round of the MGA Players Championship earlier this summer, was the only player to break 70 in men's championship play on the windy, humid day at Bemidji Town & Country Club.

Trailing Jenkins in second place was Derek Harris of Fergus Falls. Harris finished the day at 70.

Jesse Nelson of Pequot Lakes and Neil Rude of Bemidji were tied for third at 71.

In fifth was Brand Anderson of Staples at 73.

There were six players tied at two over par in sixth place: Scott Anderson of Bemidji, Phil Bell of Saukl Rapids, Clint Cornell of Bemidji, Derek Hasselberg of Princeton and Rick Passolt of Eden Prairie.

2007 Birchmont champion Johnny Larson carded 75.

In all there were 25 scores in the 70s, 29 scores in the 80s, one score in the 90s and one score over 100 in men's championship play.

In senior championship play, Ross Kvittem of Burnsville took the first round lead with a one-under-par 71.

Trailing in second place at 72 were Brent Armstron of Winnipeg and Bruce Simenson of Bemidji.

Glen Hasselberg of Staples shot 73 and Al Kehler of Lockport, Manitoba shot 76.

Joe Mayer and Jeff Nelson of Bemidji matched eachother at 77 along with 2008 Birchmont senior men's champion Jack Seiberlich.

Chris Chmielewski of Winnipeg and John Hagge of Fergus Falls were at 78; Tom Peterka and Ray Sauer of St. Cloud finished at 79.

There were 12 scores of 80 or higher.

Second round play begins Sunday in men's championship and senior men's championship play.

The 54-hole stroke play tournament concludes Monday.

Men's regular flights, senior men's regular flights, masters division and ladies regular play were flighted after Saturday's rounds and begin match play today.

On Monday, all regular flight players will play a 9-hole match with the winners playing a second 9-hole match to determine the winner, runner-up and consolation.