Weather Forecast


VOLLEYBALL: Section 8A playoffs begin today

BLACKDUCK — The area volleyball teams will begin their postseason playoffs Thursday and a pair of teams are seeded in the top four of the Section 8A East Division.

Blackduck (13-8) is ranked third in the East and Cass Lake-Bena (13-9) is fourth. Fosston (17-10) earned the top seed while Walker-Hackensack-Akeley (13-9) is ranked second.

Those four teams all received first-round byes and will host the sub-section quarterfinals on Friday.

The first round matches are Thursday and in the upper bracket No. 8 Bagley (4-17) will entertain No. 9 Red Lake (5-10) while No. 12 Bug O Nay Ge Shig (0-11) visits No. 5 Lake of the Woods (4-23-1).

Thursday’s lower-bracket contests find No. 6 Laporte (11-11) hosting No. 11 Indus (0-1)) and No. 10 Clearbrook-Gonvick (0-22) visiting No. 7 Northome-Kelliher (11-12).

In Friday’s quarterfinals CL-B will entertain either Lake of the Woods or Bug O Nay Ge Shig, Fosston will host Bagley or Red Lake, Blackduck will welcome either Laporte of Indus and WHA will host the N-K and C-G winner.

The sub-section semifinals will be Tuesday at Bemidji State University and the sub-section title match will be Nov. 1 at Bagley.

The section championship match will be Nov. 2 at UM-Crookston.

Wine-E-Mac and Badger-Greenbush-Middle River are the top two seeds in the West Division. Win-E-Max owns a 26-3 record while BGMR is 24-3.

Win-E-Mac is the defending section champion.

Section 8A Volleyball Playoffs

East Division

First Round

Thursday, Oct. 24, 7 p.m.

Match 1: Red Lake (No. 9) at Bagley (No. 8)

Match 2: Bug O Nay Ge Shig (No. 12) at Lake of the Woods (No. 5)

Match 3: Indus (No. 11) at Laporte (No. 6)

Match 4: Clearbrook-Gonvick (No. 10) at Northome-Kelliher (No. 7)


Friday, Oct. 25, 7 p.m.

Match 5: Match 1 winner at Fosston (No. 1)

Match 6: Match 2 winner at Cass Lake-Bena (No. 4)

Match 7: Match 3 winner at Blackduck (No. 3)

Match 8: Match 4 winner at Walker-Hackensack-Akeley (No. 2)

Semifinals at BSU

Tuesday, Oct. 28

Match 9: Match 5 winner vs. Match 6 winner, 6 p.m.

Match 10: Match 7 winner vs. Match 8 winner, 7:30 p.m.

East Division Championship

At Bagley High School

Friday, Nov. 1

Match 11: Match 9 winner vs. Match 10 winner, 7:45 p.m.

Section 8A Championship

At UM-Crookston

Saturday, Nov. 2

East Division champion vs. West Division champion, 7 p.m.

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200