Weather Forecast


Texas woman tells CNN that Al Franken inappropriately touched her at the State Fair

Kids enjoy 'Box Car Racing Night' at Speedway

BEMIDJI -- Among the summer's highlights of the highlights at Bemidji Speedway is "Kids Box Car Racing Night." The young racing fans and their families created beautiful replicas of their favorite race cars and during Sunday's intermission brought them onto track to race. Also during intermission a fundraiser was held for the "Relay for Life".

Once the actual racing began in the Super Stocks Rick Jacobson took top honors for the fifth time, Skyler Smith won his first of the summer in the Midwest Modifieds and Conrad Schwinn pulled back into "Victory Lane" for the sixth time. Also winning features were Danny Brown, his first, in the Mini Stocks and Chad Puschinsky in the Pures.

Next Sunday the races will be sponsored by Paul Bunyan Communications. With just two weeks left of the season the points races and several classes are very tight. The season point champions will be decided on Aug. 25.

Mini Stocks

The first feature of the night brought out the mini stocks and for point leader Jenny Watrud the race ended early with a hard crash coming out of turn two with Rebecca Church. Both pitted with Church able to make it back into the race. Danny Brown held of Andrew Hanson for the win, his first ever. Erica Westgaard was third with Church and Watrud rounding out the top five.

Pure Stocks

Following a couple of restarts Chad Puschinsky took the lead, held off Al Sadek Jr. early in the race and then had a spirited race with Mark Heinle which lasted many laps and ended with Puschinsky beating Heinle to the finish line by a car length. Sadek Jr. finished third with Josh Berg charging back from a tailback start to take fourth and Kevin Baumgarner fifth.

Super Stocks

After a spirited three-car battle Rick Jacobson raced high in turn two and grabbed the lead. A similar scenario developed between Keith Keena and Gary Nelson Jr. with Keena holding Nelson Jr. from getting by him only to lose the second spot when Nelson Jr. raced high in the 3-4 corner and came into the front straight ahead of him. Jacobson picked up his fifth feature win of the summer with Nelson Jr., Keena and Nathan Higginbotham trailing.

Midwest Modifieds

Skyler Smith held the lead after a restart with Doyle Erickson, Trent Dyrdahl, Gary James Nelson, and Bret Schmidt in the top five. Following another restart Nelson got a great jump and passed Dyrdahl for third. Schmidt raced high and also passed Dyrdahl dropping him to fifth. The tension was high as Smith fought for the lead with Erickson racing bumper to bumper. Smith held the lead and beat Erickson to the finish line by a car length for his first feature win of the summer. Erickson, Schmidt, Nelson and Dyrdahl were the top five finishers.

Mod Fours

Tonja Stranger and Craig Moore held the front row for the start with Stranger taking the lead and Conrad Schwinn maneuvering into second dropping Moore to third. Mike Margl and Chris Brown were in fourth and fifth. Margl made an early high side pass around Moore for third while Schwinn moved up top and made the pass of Stranger for the lead and quickly pulled away. For Schwinn this was his sixth feature win of the season. Stranger took second with Moore, Margl and Brown trailing.

This article was written by Dennis Peterson Special to The Pioneer

Speedway Results

Mini Stock Feature — Danny Brown, Andrew Hanson, Erica Westgaard, Rebecca Church, Jenny Watrud

Heat — J. Watrud, D. Brown, A. Hanson, R. Church, E. Westgaard

Bemidji Pure Stocks Feature — Chad Puschinsky, Mark Heinle, Al Sadek Jr, Josh Berg, Kevin Baumgarner, Weston Ramsrud, Sterling Knaeble, Jessie Lutgen, Joel Harvey, Jessie Barnum, Rick Fuentess, Jay Lutgen

Heat 1 — W. Ramsrud, C. Puschinsky, M.Heinle, J. Harvey, J. Lutgen

Heat 2 — K. Baumgarner, A. Sadek Jr, J. Berg, G. Nelson, R. Fuentess

Wissota Super Stock Feature — Rick Jacobson, Gary Nelson Jr, Keith Keena, Nathan Higginbotham

Heat — G. Nelson Jr, R. Jacobson, N. Higginbotham, K. Keena

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature — Skyler Smith, Doyle Erickson, Bret Schmidt, Gary James Nelson, Trent Dyrdahl, Brandon Bahr, Bill Yonke, Bill Matzdorf, Ron Reed, Jerad Lene, Mike Johnson

Heat 1 — B. Schmidt, D. Erickson, S. Smith, T. Dyrdahl, B. Yonke

Heat 2 — G. J. Nelson, B. Bahr, J. Lene, M. Johnson, R. Reed

Wissota Mod Four Feature — Conrad Schwinn, Tonja Stranger, Craig Moore, Mike Margl, Chris Brown

Heat — T. Stranger, C.Schwinn, M. Margl, C. Moore, J. Sautbine, C. Brown