Weather Forecast


Tisdell, Erickson win Gary Newell Memorial/Eagles walleye fishing tournament

Dave Tisdell and Pete Erickson landed 18.56 pounds and captured the championship of Saturday's seventh annual Gary Newell Memorial walleye tournament hosted by the Bemidji Eagles Club.

The event, which was held on Lake Bemidji and Lake Irving, attracted 53 two-person teams who braved strong winds and steady rain showers.

Lauren and Valerie Ras were second with 16.52 pounds and Dan and Joe Ahlquist claimed third with 16.01.

Completing the top five were Craig Gaasvig and Jeff Janiksela (15.95) and Paul Nelson and Brian Brosdahl (15.82).

Erickson and Tisdell also landed the heaviest fish as they brought a 9.09-pound walleye to the scale. Gary Krantz and David Spartz were second with a 7.7-pound walleye.

Gary Newell Memorial

Bemidji Eagles Tournament

Top 15 Finishers

1-Dave Tisdell and Pete Erickson, 18.56

2-Lauren Ras and Valerie Ras, 16.52

3-Dan Ahlquist and Joe Ahlquist 16.01

4-Craig Gaasvig and Jeff Janiksela, 15.95

5-Paul Nelson and Brian Brosdahl, 15.82

6-Mike McKee and Justin McKee, 15.62

7-Bucky Leeper and Chad Benson, 15.01

8-Sam Gaske and Al Binkley, 14.99

9-Al Kendall and Kent Schuver, 14.96

10-Brian Hendricks and Billy Nelson, 13.91

11-Kelly Hanson and Dave Hanson, 13.82

12-Jon Haugstad and Bill Kane, 13.12

13-Barb Holum and Kelvin Hughs, 13.09

14-Brian Davis and Randy Tisdell, 13.09

15-Andy Folkers and Nate Brandt, 13.08

Big Fish Award

1-Tisdell and Erickson, 9.09

2-Gary Krantz and David Spartz, 7.74

3-Dean Kvalevog and Dan Sadek, 7.67