Weather Forecast


RED LAKE ELECTION: Results released in run-off races

RED LAKE -- The Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians certified 2014 Election results for the secretary, treasurer and Little Rock, Red Lake and Redby representatives Thursday. Unofficial run-off election results were released Wednesday evening.

Incumbent Don Cook Sr. won the Secretary seat with 52.47 percent of the votes. Sam Strong ran against Cook in a close race. Strong received 1,326 votes, 138 votes less than Cook. In the general election, Cook and Strong had three additional running mates. Vote totals at that time were: Cook, 1,023; Strong, 911; Judy Roy, 906; Jim White, 352 and Rochelle “Chelle” Kingbird, 238.

Annette Johnson and Glenda J. Martin came in with similar numbers for Treasurer. Johnson prevailed with 1,466 votes over Martin’s 1,327. Chairman Darrell G. Seki Sr. vacated the treasurer position when he assumed the role as tribal chairman. General election results for treasurer were: Johnson, 1,345; Martin, 896; Michael Barrett, 561; Lee Lussier Jr., 431 and Cheryl A. Schoenborn, 201.

Robert “Charlie” Reynolds defeated Adrian Lee Beaulieu for the title of Little Rock Representative. Reynolds received 261 votes, Beaulieu followed with 239. The vote gap between the two candidates was much narrower in the primary: Reynolds, 148; Beaulieu, 145; Christopher Jourdain, 57 and Katherine “Spears” Dudley, 53.

In the Red Lake District, incumbent Roman “Ducker” Stately retained his seat with 626 votes against Robert “Bob” Smith’s 483 votes. Seven people ran for the Red Lake position in the general election: Roman “Ducker” Stately, 398; Robert “Bob” Smith, 161; Robert L. May, 155; David F. Desjarlait, 127; Donovan M. May, 61; Deanna K. Lasley, 33 and Martin “Mott” Parkhurst, 33.

Incumbent Julius “Toady” Thunder remains Redby District Representative with 414 votes, defeating Thomas “Jambi” Westbrook, who had 286 votes in the run-off election. In the general election, three others ran with Thunder and Westbrook. Votes at that time were: Thunder, 291; Westbrook, 188; Matt Sayers, 92; John W. Dudley, 64 and Clayton Van Wert, 34.

Chairman Darrell G. Seki Sr. and Ponemah District Representative Gary L. Nelson Sr. were sworn into office on June 10 since both men received more than 50 percent of the votes in the general election. Seki ran against incumbent chairman Floyd “Buck” Jourdain, Kathryn “Jody” Beaulieu and Ron Lussier. Seki received 55 percent of the vote -- he received 1,907 votes compared to Jourdain’s 1,284. Beaulieu received 192 votes and Lussier tailed with 57.

Nelson won the election for Ponemah Representative with 62 percent of the votes. Certified vote totals were: Nelson, 325; Eugene Perkins, 103 and Clifford C. Hardy, 62.

Crystal Dey
Crystal Dey covers crime, courts, tribal relations and social issues for The Bemidji Pioneer in Bemidji, Minnesota. Originally from Minnesota’s Iron Range, Dey has worked for the Echo Press in Alexandria, Minnesota, The Forum in Fargo, North Dakota, The Tampa Tribune in Tampa, Florida, the Hartford Courant in Hartford and West Hartford News in West Hartford, Connecticut. Dey studied Mass Communications at Minnesota State University Moorhead with an emphasis in Online Journalism. Follow Crystal Dey on Twitter @Crystal_Dey.
(218) 333-9796