Weather Forecast


Leech Lake Band confirms 2014 election results

CASS LAKE -- The Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe general election board has certified results for the 2014 general election.

Challenger Arthur “Archie” LaRose will be sworn in as secretary/treasurer. LaRose received 1,282 votes (57.8 percent). Incumbent Donald J. Finn received 936 votes.

Penny Devault received 370 votes in District 1 giving her 73.12 percent of the votes. James Howard received 136 votes. District 1 Representative Robbie Howe did not be seek reelection.

Positions on the ballot included secretary/treasurer, District 1 representative and District 2 representative. Steven White defeated Arnold Dahl in the primary with 71.53 percent of the votes.

A swearing in ceremony will be held on July 3 at 10 a.m. at the Northern Lights Casino.

Crystal Dey
Crystal Dey covers crime, courts, tribal relations and social issues for The Bemidji Pioneer in Bemidji, Minnesota. Originally from Minnesota’s Iron Range, Dey has worked for the Echo Press in Alexandria, Minnesota, The Forum in Fargo, North Dakota, The Tampa Tribune in Tampa, Florida, the Hartford Courant in Hartford and West Hartford News in West Hartford, Connecticut. Dey studied Mass Communications at Minnesota State University Moorhead with an emphasis in Online Journalism. Follow Crystal Dey on Twitter @Crystal_Dey.
(218) 333-9796