Weather Forecast


Ninth Judicial District: Incumbent judges win

Paul Benshoof and Paul Rasmussen, the incumbent Ninth Judicial District judges, kept their seats on the bench following Tuesday's election.

Benshoof received 60,023 votes - 55 percent - in the 17-county district. His challenger, Bemidji attorney Darrell Carter received 49,370 - 45 percent.

Rasmussen, based in Clearwater County, received 65,381 votes - 60 percent. His opponent, retired Judge Terrance Holter of Bemidji, received 44,093 - 40 percent.

"I am honored and humbled by the vote of confidence, and I am just going to continue to work hard for the people of the Ninth District," Rasmussen said in a telephone interview Wednesday morning.

Benshoof, Holter and Carter were not available for comment.