Weather Forecast


Races for fall elections framing up

Sen. Mary Olson, DFL-Bemidji, filed Friday for a second term to her Senate 4 post. She joins John Carlson of Bemidji, the Republican-endorsed candidate.

With that, local legislative races have contests, with filing for all offices closing Tuesday.

Senate 2 has Sen. Rod Skoe, DFL-Clearbrook, facing Republican-endorsed Dennis Moser of Clearbrook. Senate 3 has Sen. Tom Saxhaug, DFL-Grand Rapids, facing GOP-endorsed Dan McGuire of Baudette.

In House races, House 2B has Rep. Brita Sailer, DFL-Park Rapids, facing GOP-endorsed David Hancock of Bemidji.

House 3A has Rep. Tom Anzelc, DFL-Balsam Township, facing Republican Marv Ott of Grand Rapids. House 3B has Rep. Loren Solberg of Grand Rapids, facing Republican Carolyn McElfatrick of Deer River.

In House 4A, its Rep. John Persell, DFL-Bemidji, and Republican Richard Lehmann of Bemidji. House 4B has Rep. Larry Howes, R-Walker, facing DFL-endorsed Meg Bye of Pequot Lakes.

In the U.S. House 7th District race, Rep. Collin Peterson, DFL-Detroit Lakes, faces Republican-endorsed Lee Byberg of Willmar.

The U.S. House 8th District race has Rep. Jim Oberstar, DFL-Chisholm, challenged by GOP-endorsed Chip Cravaack of Lindstrom, DFLer W.D. "Bill" Hamm of Bovey and Independence Party candidate Timothy Olson of Buhl.

An Aug. 10 DFL primary will feature Oberstar and Hamm.

All incumbent 9th Judicial District judges have filed for re-election and are unopposed with the exception of Clearwater County District Judge Paul Rasmussen, who is challenged by former Beltrami County District Judge Terrance Holter.

Beltrami County

Positions remain unchanged with incumbents filing for re-election.

They include District 1 Commissioner Jack Frost, District 2 Commissioner Joe Vene, District 3 Commissioner Jim Heltzer, County Auditor-Treasurer Kay Mack, County Sheriff Phil Hodapp and County Attorney Tim Faver.

Jay Frenzel has filed for the District 1 supervisor spot on the Beltrami Soil and Water Conservation District Board, but District 2 remains open.

Cass County

Neal Gaalswyk and Ken Laporte for District 1 commissioner; Robert Kangas, Phil Kinnunen and Edward "Ed" Nelson for District 2 commissioner; Jim Dowson and Bob Moore for District 4 commissioner.

Kathryn "Katie" Norby for county recorder; Tom Burch,Garr Pemberton, Wayne Tennis and Chris Thompson for county sheriff; Chris Strandlie for county attorney.

Tom Kuschel for District 1 supervisor and Willard Pehling for District 5 supervisor to the Cass County Soil and Water Conservation District Board.

Clearwater County

Eugene Cole, Duane Hayes and Michael Nelson for District 1 commissioner; John Chevalier for District 3 commissioner; Scott Bakke and Daniel Stenseng for District 5 commissioner.

Allen Paulson as county auditor; Angie Abraham and Charlene Olson for county treasurer; Brenda Knable for county recorder; Michael Erickson and John Sutherland for county sheriff; Jeanine Brand and Richard Mollin for county attorney.

Paul Rydeen as District 3 supervisor for the Clearwater Soil and Water Conservation District Board. District 4 supervisor remains open.

Hubbard County

Sherman Anderson, Don "Doc" Carlson and E.P. "Ed" DeLaHunt for District 1 commissioner; Floyd Frank and Gregory Larson for District 3 commissioner; Cal Johannsen for District 5 commissioner.

Cory Aukes and Frank Homer for county sheriff; Don Dearstyne and Nathaniel Welte for county attorney; no candidates for county coroner.

W.R. "Bill" Clausen for District 5 supervisor for Hubbard Soil and Water Conservation Board, with no candidates for District 4 supervisor.

City of Bemidji

Three new filings came Friday for city posts.

Dave Larson, a Ward 4 resident, filed for mayor and will be joined by Ron Johnson, Laverne "Pedie" Pederson and Adam Steele.

Byron Rock, also a Ward 4 resident, filed for the at-large council position and will be joined by Jim Thompson.

Rita Albrecht, the former city community development director, filed for the Ward 4 seat on the council, and will oppose current Councilor Jerry Downs.

There are no fillings for the Ward 2 council seat now held by Roger Hellquist.