Weather Forecast


Lincoln, Kelliher schools named Celebration Schools

BEMIDJI – Two area schools have been named Celebration Schools for 2012 by the Minnesota Department of Education.

Lincoln Elementary and Kelliher Secondary both have been named Celebration Schools, according to a press release from the MDE.

The MDE recognizes high-performing Title I schools –those that receive federal funding based on their level of poverty – by measuring schools’ student growth, progress toward closing achievement gaps and proficiency.

The top 15 percent of Title I schools are recognized as Reward Schools, which were announced last fall.

Local schools named Reward Schools were Schoolcraft Learning Community, Solway Elementary and TrekNorth Junior and Senior High School.

The next highest 25 percent were named Celebration Eligible, meaning they were able to apply to be designated as a Celebration School, the next top 10 percent.

The MDE announced Friday that Lincoln Elementary and Kelliher Secondary have been designated as Celebration Schools.