Weather Forecast


Eight candidates apply for vacant school board seat

BEMIDJI - Bemidji Area Schools District School Board members are set to fill a vacancy there soon.

One of eight Bemidji-area applicants will finish longtime board member Bill Faver's term, which expires in late 2018. Faver resigned from the board in November, and state law said remaining board members should choose his replacement themselves rather than call for a special election.

Organized alphabetically by last name, the following people have thrown their hat into the ring:

• Bill Blackwell, Jr.

• Ashley Charwood

• Tanya Hasbargen

• Todd Haugen

• Jeffrey Lind

• Nate Nolting

• Bonnie Solomon

• Shawn Whiting

Board members will look over the slate of applicants at a special meeting Wednesday at district headquarters in downtown Bemidji.

Board Chair Ann Long Voelkner told the Pioneer they plan to formally appoint Faver's replacement at their next regularly scheduled meeting on Jan. 22.

School district staff didn't provide applicants' resumes and cover letters on Tuesday, but said they'd have those documents prepared for Wednesday's meeting. Some applicants have been in Bemidji-area education, business or community service circles for years.

Joe Bowen

Joe Bowen covers education and health for the Bemidji Pioneer.

He is a Minneapolis native and a 2009 graduate of St. John's University. Before moving to Bemidji, Bowen covered education, local politics, crime, and everything in between for the Perham Focus in Perham, Minnesota, and Sun Newspapers in suburban Minneapolis.

(218) 333-9798