Weather Forecast


MnSCU Chancellor McCormick wins 2010 Pacesetter Award

The National Council for Marketing and Public Relations District 5 has presented the 2010 Pacesetter of the Year Award to Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Chancellor James McCormick.

The annual award recognizes a chief executive officer at a two-year college for exceptional leadership and support of college communications and marketing.

When he became chancellor of MnSCU in July 2001, McCormick noted that he had no prior experience leading two-year colleges. Today, McCormick leads a system made up of seven state universities and 25 two-year community and technical colleges that is the fifth-largest such system in the nation.

McCormick was nominated as a strong advocate for the system. He has taken an active interest in communications and marketing, both at the system and campus level. Under his leadership, enrollment has grown consistently over the past decade, with growth in the two-year colleges outpacing growth in the system as a whole. Growth in online education, diversity among the student body and staff, services for veterans, and initiatives to help students enroll and transfer efficiently were cited among his achievements.

The District 5 region includes Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota; the Canadian province of Manitoba; Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

The Pacesetter of the Year Award is presented in each of the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations' seven districts. District winners are eligible for the national award to be presented at the council's national conference in March 2011.

The MnSCU system comprises 32 state universities and community and technical colleges serving the higher education needs of Minnesota. The system serves about 260,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 164,000 students in noncredit courses.