Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Quistgaard receives president emeritus status from MnSCU

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees awarded president emeritus status Wednesday to four former Minnesota State Colleges and Universities presidents.

Among them was Jon Quistgaard, former president of Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College.

President emeritus status is awarded upon recommendation of the chancellor to a president or former president who has provided exemplary service, completed at least five years as president of a state university or college and is retiring from employment with the MnSCU system.

The other presidents who received emeritus status were Cheryl Frank of Inver Hills Community College, Kathleen Nelson of Lake Superior College and Ann Wynia of North Hennepin Community College.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises of 32 state universities and community and technical colleges in Minnesota. The system serves about 260,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 164,000 students in non-credit courses.