Weather Forecast


Poor named dean of BSU's College of Arts & Sciences

P. Joan Poor has been named dean of the Bemidji State University's College of Arts and Sciences.

Poor's appointment begins in July. She succeeds Elizabeth Dunn, who had been the interim dean of the college since September 2008.

Poor joins the BSU administration after spending nine years at St. Mary's College, Md. She joined the St. Mary's faculty in 2001 as an assistant professor of economics. She was promoted to associate professor of economics in 2006, at which time she also was named assistant to the president for planning and legislative affairs. Poor also served as the coordinator of St. Mary's environmental studies program from 2002 to 2007.

In 2007, Poor was an invited faculty fellow at the Centre for Medieval and Renaissance Studies in Oxford and in 2008 she was awarded the Hobart Houghton Fellowship at Rhodes University in South Africa.

Prior to her tenure at St. Mary's, Poor was a visiting professor of economics at Rochester Institute of Technology; a research assistant professor in resource economics and policy at the University of Maine and a post-doctoral research assistant and graduate research assistant at the University of Nebraska. She also served as a senior economic analyst for international agriculture at Wharton Econometric Forecasting Associates and was manager of corporate affairs for WIK Associates Inc. Environmental Consultants.

Poor worked for the Manitoba Provincial Government as a land research analyst, as a grain inspection assistant for the Canadian Grain Commission and was a research assistant in the Department of Regional Development for the Canadian government in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Poor earned her Bachelor of Science degree in agriculture and her Master of Science degree in natural resource management from the University of Manitoba and her doctorate in resource and environmental economics from the University of Nebraska. She is also a graduate of the Management Development Program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education and the HERS Institute for Women in Higher Education Administration from Wellesley College.