Weather Forecast


Final three semifinalists for BSU-NTC president announced

The final three semifinalists for the next Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College president have been announced.

Betsy Vogel Boze, senior fellow at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities; Jason A. Laker, associate vice principal and dean of student affairs at Queen's University (Ontario, Canada); and Philip C. Williams, president of the University of Montevallo (Montevallo, Ala.), are the final three semifinalists.

Linda T. Krug and Richard A. Hanson were announced on Tuesday as the first two semifinalists for the BSU-NTC presidency, bringing the total number of candidates to five.

Current BSU-NTC President Jon Quistgaard announced in October that he plans to retire this summer, after spending nine years as president of the university and seven years at the college.

Vogel Boze's on-campus interview is scheduled for Monday and Tuesday, April 12-13. Laker will be on campus Thursday and Friday, April 15-16. Williams' interview will be Monday and Tuesday, April 19-20.

The three candidates will participate in a public forum titled "Higher Education at a Crossroads" during their first visits. They will give a 20-minute presentation and then be available for a question-and-answer session. The forums will be 2:15-3 p.m. in Bridgeman Hall 100.

Betsy Vogel Boze

Betsy Vogel Boze is currently a senior partner at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities. To fill this role, she is on leave from her position as campus dean and chief executive officer at Kent State University at Stark, a position she has held since 2005.

From 1994-2005, she was dean of the business school at the University of Texas at Brownsville and Texas Southmost College. She also served as chief academic officer at the University of Texas Telecampus MBA Online from 1996-2005. Vogel Boze served as assistant to the president at Tulane University from 2003-2004 as part of an American Council on Education fellowship. Additionally, she was chair of the business administration department at the University of Alaska Anchorage from 1989-1994.

Vogel Boze earned her bachelor's degree in psychology in 1974 and master's degree in business administration in 1975, both from Southern Methodist University. She earned a doctorate in business administration at the University of Arkansas in 1983.

Jason A. Laker

Jason A. Laker has been the associate vice principal and dean of student affairs at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada, since July 2006.

Prior to that, Laker was dean of campus life at St. John's University in Minnesota from 2002-2006, and was at the University of Arizona from 1998-2002. There, he was assistant director of residence life from 1998-2000, manager of professional programs and conference services from 2000-2001, and director of business programs and workforce development from 2001-2002. Laker was complex coordinator for five residence halls at the University of Delaware from 1995-1998 and was residence hall director and residence director for education/family housing manager at Fort Lewis (Colo.) College from 1992-1995.

Laker earned his bachelor's degree in interpersonal and public communication at Central Michigan University and a master's degree in community counseling at Adams State (Colo.) College. He holds a doctorate in higher education administration and organization from the University of Arizona.

Philip C. Williams

Philip C. Williams is the president of the University of Montevallo in Montevallo, Ala., a position he has held since 2006.

Previously, he was vice president for academic affairs and dean of the college at Methodist College, N.C., from 2003-2006 and served as assistant vice president for academic affairs at Gardner-Webb University from 1999-2002. Williams was an Association of Schools of Public Health fellow with the National Standards Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Public Health Practice Program Office from 1998-1999.

Williams earned a bachelor's degree in history at the University of North Carolina in 1974 and a juris doctorate from the Columbia University School of Law in 1977. He earned a master's degree in public health at North Carolina in 1995 and a doctorate in health policy and administration from North Carolina in 1998.

More information

For information on the BSU-NTC presidential search, visit