Weather Forecast


Bemidji State to honor Trudy Rautio with Distinguished Minnesotan Award

BEMIDJI — Trudy Rautio, president and CEO of Minneapolis-based Carlson Cos., will be the 32nd recipient of BSU’s Distinguished Minnesotan Award.

Rautio earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from BSU and also holds a master’s degree in business administration from the University of St. Thomas.

Raution has been a senior executive with Carlson since 1997 and was named president and CEO in 2012. She has earned a number of accolades for her leadership, including the 2009 Minneapolis St. Paul Business Journal chief financial officer of the year for large private companies and Woman Changemaker recognition in 2005. She was the inaugural recipient of the Girl Scouts of America’s Women of Distinction award in 2009 and was named an Outstanding Alumni at BSU in 2007. She also received the Corporate Woman of Achievement award from the National Association of Women Business Owners’ Minneapolis Chapter in 2004. In 2003, Rautio received the Carlson Fellows award, the company’s highest career achievement honor. She chairs The Rezidor Hotel Group and Carlson Wagonlit Travel board and serves on the board of directors for Carlson, Securian Holding Co., Imation and the Bemidji State University Foundation.

First presented by Bemidji State in 1981, the Distinguished Minnesotan Award acknowledges the contributions of current or former residents of the state who have performed exemplary service to the people of Minnesota or the United States, according to a BSU release.

The Distinguished Minnesotan award was presented annually from 1981-2009, and was not awarded in 2010 or 2012. The honoree traditionally gives Bemidji State’s commencement address.

Past recipient include Sigurd Olson, Karl Kassulke, Janet Dearholt Esty, Frederick F. Manfred, Dr. John Najarian, Dr. Harlan Cleveland, Muriel Buck Humphrey Brown, Elmer L. Andersen, Curtis L. Carlson, William S. Marvin, Meridel LeSueur, Veda Ponikvar, Nellie Stone Johnson, Cheryl Dickson, William H. Kling, Jerry Willet, Ann Bancroft, Bob Bergland, Coya Knutson, Jon Hassler, Libby Larsen, Rosalie Wahl, Edgar Heteen, Herb Brooks, Gerald Vizenor, Kathleen Blatz, Paul Wellstone, Dr. Alex Cirillo, Jr., Don Shelby, Susan Marvin and Lt. Gen. Thomas Waldhauser.