Weather Forecast


Burning restrictions added in 4 Minn. counties

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Authorities have added four more northern Minnesota counties to the long list of counties where spring burning restrictions are in effect.

The latest restrictions took effect Monday in Cook, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis counties, where receding snow cover has raised the wildfire risk. Getting a burning permit in those counties now requires a variance from the Department of Natural Resources.

Burning permits are now required statewide except for a large swath from northwestern Minnesota down to parts of south-central Minnesota where no permits are being issued at all until vegetation greens up and the risk subsides.

Minnesota has had numerous wildfires this spring, but most have been small.

While burning debris is being curtailed, campfires are allowed if they're smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet tall.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.