Weather Forecast


Bemidji residents named finalists in IDEA Competition.

THIEF RIVER FALLS —Two Bemidji natives have been announced as finalists in the upcoming IDEA Competition.

Dr. Alan Rudnick and Dan Kramer, both of Bemidji, were named finalists for Rudnick Medical Technologies, a solution for chronic wounds that reduces infections, increases circulation and jump-starts the wound-healing process.

The other 2013 finalists are:

— Lester Wilkens of Crookston for E-Stud, an engineered stud for new building construction that raises the R-factor to R-19 on the whole structure.

— Morgan, Ron and Brenda Knable, of Bagley, for Knable Machine Works, a rifle attachment that converts a gun’s action from right-handed to left-handed in a matter of seconds.

— Jerry Titera of Bagley for Hubmaster, Inc., a tool that helps remove the tapered wheel hub from bobcat skidsteers for routine maintenance and repair.

— Brian and Coreen Berdahl of Red Lake Falls for Spot-Knot, an on-the-spot slip knot tie device that is the only one of its kind in the fishing industry.

— Scott Johnson of Warroad for Sand Shark, a tiller attachment that removes rocks and debris from sand bunkers and beach fronts.

— Tim and Jenny Slukynsky of Warroad for Lamplighter Hockey, a hockey stick weight that overcomes the weaknesses of other hockey stick training tools on the market today.

— Dr. Jack V. Lundbohm of Roseau for Stand Alone Game Calls, an elk-hunting call that allows an elk hunter to hunt alone while remotely operating the call that is set up in a second location.

The winner will be announced at the IDEA Competition Awards Banquet, slated to be from 5-8:30 p.m. April 24 at the Ralph Engelstad Arena in Thief River Falls.

The keynote address will be presented by Jason LaValley, founder, president and CEO of LaValley Industries and Jorge Prince, CFO of LaValley Industries. The Bemidji-based company is a two-time winner of the IDEA Compeition.

Entering its fifth year, the IDEA Competition was designed to grow the economy of northwest Minnesota by outfitting the next generation of homegrown innovators for success in the global marketplace. To accomplish its purpose, the program identifies the most promising ideas and entrepreneurs through a competitive process, awards cash to winners and provides intensive follow-up assistance.

Final awards will be determined by a judging panel comprised of members from three area equity funds, bankers, entrepreneurs and business-development professionals. The panel will choose up to five winners who will each receive $10,000 to advance their business idea, plus additional technical assistance.

In addition to the individual 2013 IDEA Competition award announcements, Ron Stordahl, founder and CEO of Digi-Key, and Mark Larson, president and COO of Digi-Key, will be inducted into the IDEA Hall of Fame during the banquet.

For more details on the IDEA Competition Awards Banquet, or to register, go online to

Joe Froemming

Joe Froemming is a page designer for Forum Communications Co. You can read his blog at

You can follow him on Twitter @JosephBemidji

(218) 333-9792