Weather Forecast


Senate confirms 5 more commissioners

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) — Five more members of Gov. Mark Dayton's cabinet have been confirmed, but not without a short fight from Republicans.

Several Senate Republicans tried Thursday to delay the confirmation of Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. Some conservatives have balked at proposed revisions to state social studies standards they feel overemphasize some negatives about American history, such as slavery and treatment of American Indians.

Republicans said only the Legislature can change those standards, and tried to delay her confirmation until a judge weighs in.

With Democrats controlling the chamber, Cassellius was ultimately approved, but was the only one of the five that needed a roll call rather than a simple voice vote.

Also approved were Revenue Commissioner Myron Frans, Human Services Commissioner Lucinda Jesson, Health Commissioner Ed Ehlinger and Transportation Commissioner Charles Zelle.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.