Weather Forecast


Students in the News, Jan. 14

Central Lakes College releases honor lists

BRAINERD—Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples, recently announced its 2017 fall semester honors list, which included students from Bemidji and Tenstrike. Named to the list were Allison Morberg, President's List, Bemidji; Carlie Schroeder, Dean's List, Bemidji; Dylan Parsons, Dean's List, Tenstrike; and Hailey Semon, Dean's List, Tenstrike.

The President's List included 214 students who earned a grade-point average of 3.75 to 4.0 while enrolled for at least 12 credits. The Dean's List included 265 students who earned a grade-point average of 3.25 to 3.74.

University of Wisconsin releases Dean's List

SUPERIOR, Wis.—The University of Wisconsin-Superior recently released its Dean's List for academic achievement during the Fall 2017 semester, which included several local students. Named to the list were Brylee Shalynna Colligan, Karlie Marie Leif and Carrie Melcher, all of Bemidji.

To be included on the Dean's List, students must have completed 12 semester credits and achieved at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

University of Minnesota Duluth releases Dean's List

DULUTH—The University of Minnesota Duluth recently announced its Dean's List for the 2017 fall semester. Students on the Dean's List achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher. Local students named to the list included:

Bemidji Benjamin G. Christopher, senior, exercise science; Adam L. Hogquist, freshman, civil engineering; Jens T. Huseby, sophomore, biochemistry; Erik Jensen, senior, philosophy; Rachel A. Jensen, senior, integrated elementary and special education; Zachary M. Johnston, senior, mechanical engineering; Olivia Jones, freshman, integrated elementary and spec education; John A. McKeown, senior, computer science, mathematics; Quinn Schollett, freshman, political science; Kiana-Rae J. Spencer, junior, unified early childhood studies.

Blackduck Sierra Stroeing, freshman, biology.

Cass Lake Julianna M. Fernandez, sophomore, biology.

Fultz graduates from MSCTC

FERGUS FALLS—Christopher Fultz of Bemidji recently graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College with an associate of applied science degree in information technology. Fultz was among the nearly 300 students who graduated from Minnesota State Community and Technical College during commencement ceremonies in December.

NCTC announces fall honors lists

EAST GRAND FORKS—Northland Community and Technical College recently announced the 2017 fall semester academic honors lists. Students must have earned at least 12 credits as of the last day of the semester and a semester grade-point average of 3.75 to 4.0 to be eligible for NCTC's President's List. Also, students must have earned at least 12 credits as of the last day of the semester and a semester grade-point average of 3.5 to 3.74 to be eligible for the NCTC Dean's List. Local students named to the President's List included:

Bemidji Cole Bardwell, criminal justice - law enforcement.

Bagley Jonathan Danielson, electronics tech-automated systems.

Fosston Michelle Venem, early childhood and paraprofessional.

Gatzke Dustin Nelson , electronics tech-automated systems.

Gonvick Kaili Simpson, electronics tech-automated systems; Madison Stenzel, liberal arts and sciences.

Northome Conner Rennemo, precision agriculture equipment technology.

Red Lake Tanisha Beaulieu, liberal arts and sciences.

Students named to the Dean's List included:

Bagley Cruz Nelson, liberal arts and sciences.

Gonvick Maisie Gunning, radiologic technology.

Minnesota State Moorhead releases Dean's List

MOORHEAD—Minnesota State University Moorhead recently released its Dean's List for the 2017 fall semester. Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade-point average while completing a minimum of 12 credits to qualify for the recognition. Local students named to the list included:

Bagley Kylie Bergh, elementary inclusive education; Mellisa Eastley, business administration; Shayley Espeseth, theatre arts; Sierrah Kaiser, early childhood education; Catrinia Paulson, elementary inclusive education; Whitney Shegrud, biology.

Bemidji Sara Erickson, broadcast journalism; Madisen Erpelding, speech/language/hearing science; Candace Gould, paralegal; Chaney Jambor, biochemistry and biotechnology; Alexis Konecne, mathematics education; Katherine Krotzer, psychology; Sydney Kurtzweg, early childhood education; Anna McLean, elementary inclusive education; Nathan Snell, athletic training; Alexis Solo, health and medical sciences, pre-dentistry; Alexander Vollen, mathematics education; Brody Wilander, business administration; Cheyenne Woods, speech/language/hearing science.

Clearbrook Katherine Knutson, english, chemistry, biology.

Nevis Jordan Feder, chemistry.

Laporte Keegan Foy, elementary inclusive education; Hope Pauly, graphic design.

Ogema Caitlin McArthur, health services administration.

Pinewood Kali Benson, studio art.

Puposky Brooke Mistic, elementary inclusive education.

Squaw Lake Hannah Korpela, geosciences, geographic information science