Weather Forecast


Funding for government lapses as short-term spending bill stalls in the Senate

Students in the News

-- Peter Crompton, M.D., M.P.H., 1989 Bemidji High School graduate, has received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). He is one of 20 researchers from the National Institutes of Health to receive the award, and was honored by President Barack Obama at a White House awards ceremony at the end of July.

-- Erik B. Dreyer and Levi M. Heath, both of Bemidji, have been announced as semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.

-- Matthew Fossen of Bemidji graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks at the conclusion of the Spring 2012 semester.

-- Terran Chambers of Bemidji made the Dean’s List at the University of Minnesota Law School at the conclusion of the Spring 2012 semester.

-- The following students graduated with a Bachelor’s degree from North Dakota State University in Grand Forks, N.D. at the conclusion of the Summer 2012 semester:

—From Bemidji, Lindsay Elizabeth Hanson, B.S. in Pharmaceutical Sciences; Rebecca Rae Richards, B.S. in Pharmaceutical Sciences; Taylor Marie Ruttger, B.S. in Zoology;

—From Mahnomen, Katie Marie Ahmann, B.S. in Radiologic Sciences.