Weather Forecast


Funding for government lapses as short-term spending bill stalls in the Senate

State, congressional primary returns

ST. PAUL — Almost all votes from Tuesday’s primary election have been counted.

The unofficial returns below show the returns, with all but one of Minnesota’s 4,102 precincts reporting.

In congressional races, the candidate who received the most votes in each party moves on to the Nov. 6 general election. In judicial races, the top two vote-getters will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.

U.S. Senate

Independence: Glen Menze, 2,073; Stephan Williams, 3,071.

Republican: Kurt Bills, 63,423; David Carlson, 43,885; Bob Carney Jr., 16,766.

Democrat: Dick Franson, 6,839; Amy Klobuchar (i), 183,763; Jack Shepard, 6,640; Darryl Stanton, 5,158.

1st Congressional District

Republican: Mike Parry, 10,612; Allen Quist, 12,529.

2nd Congressional District

Republican: David Gerson, 2,772; John Kline (i), 15,859.

 3rd Congressional District

Republican: John Howard II, 2,032; Erik Paulsen (i), 18,627.

4th Congressional District

Republican: Tony Hernandez, 6,885; Ron Seiford, 3,864.

Democrat: Diana Longrie, 3,215; Betty McCollum (i), 27,304; Brian Stalboereger, 1,921.

5th Congressional District

Democrat: Gary Boisclair, 1,397;Keith Ellison (i), 30,609; Gregg Iverson, 2,143.

6th Congress District

Republican: Michele Bachmann (i), 14,569; Aubrey Immelman, 1,242; Stephen Thompson, 2,322.

 8th Congressional District

Democrat: Jeff Anderson, 15,977; Tarryl Clark, 17,540; Richard Nolan, 20,838.

Supreme Court chief justice

Jill Clark, 61,266; Lorie Skjerven Gildea (i), 145,052; Dan Griffith, 85,886.

 Supreme Court justice 4

 Alan Nelson, 61,937; David Stras (i), 139,256; Tim Tingelstad, 83,985.

 (i) indicates incumbent