Weather Forecast


Tuesday primary to narrow candidate field

BEMIDJI - Depending on where they live, area residents will cast votes in an array of races in Tuesday's primary election.

The following is a list of the candidates who will appear on primary election ballots.

In races for U.S. Senate and U.S. House seats, one candidate from each party will advance to the Nov. 6 general election.

For Senate, the candidates are as follows:

Independence Party - Glen Menze and Stephan Williams

Republican Party - Kurt Bills, David Carlson, and Bob Carney Jr.

Democratic Party - Dick Franson, Amy Klobuchar (incumbent), Jack Shepard, and Darryl Stanton

There also will be a Democratic primary for those seeking to represent the 8th District in Congress. The eventual winner of the primary will face Republican incumbent Chip Cravaack

Voters will choose between Jeff Anderson, Tarryl Clark and Richard Nolan to advance to the Nov. 6 election.

Three are competing for two spots on the general election ballot as they seek to become chief justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court: Jill Clark, Lorie Skjerven Gildea (i), and Dan Griffith.

Likewise, three others are seeking to be Supreme Court Justice 4: Alan Nelson, David Stras (i), Tim Tingelstad. They, too, will be pared to two for the general election.

In Senate District 5, a Democratic-Farmer-Labor primary will be held between current Sen. Tom Saxhaug, DFL-Grand Rapids, and Bemidji resident Laverne "Pedie" Pederson.

The winner will face current Sen. John Carlson, R-Bemidji.

Through redistricting, done once every 10 years, the boundaries of District 5 were changed and now include the two sitting senators.

There are no incumbent legislators in House 2B following redistricting. Three candidates are seeking election.

David Collins of Park Rapids and Steve Green of Fosston will face one another Tuesday in a Republic primary.

The winner then will face former state representative Brita Sailer of Park Rapids, a DFL candidate, in the general election.

Two of the races for Bemidji City Council will have primary elections. Both races include three candidates and will be pared to two Tuesday in advance of the general election.

For mayor, incumbent Dave Larson is seeking another term in office as Rita Albrecht, currently the Ward 4 city councilor, and newcomer Sachel Josefson also are vying for the position.

In Ward 5, incumbent Greg Negard is running for re-election against Nancy Erickson, a former city councilor, and newcomer Phillip Nelson.

All city residents may vote for mayor; only Ward 5 residents will take cast ballots in that ward's primary.