Weather Forecast


White Earth re-elects Vizenor, Bevins for four-year terms

WHITE EARTH - White Earth Chairwoman Erma J. Vizenor and District III Representative Kenneth "Gun" Bevins were re-elected Tuesday to four-year terms.

Vizenor received 55 percent of the votes for chairperson while Bevins collected 56 percent of votes during the White Earth Reservation primary election.

Candidates receiving more than 50 percent of votes are automatically elected, and avoid a general election.

For chair, candidates received the following vote totals: Vizenor, 1,126 votes, Kenneth M. Colman Jr., 747, Char Lee-Ovaldson, 87, Karen M. Manypenny, 40, and Sally Littlewolf, 31.

For District III representative, the vote totals were Bevins, 559 votes, Tara M. Mason, 237, Martha Williams, 75, Mike T. Smith, 62, Mike "Stink" Bevins, 37, and Paul A. Soyring, 28.

The District III area covers White Earth, Pine Point, Callaway, Ogema and Elbow Lake.