Weather Forecast


Kelliher National Honor Society and National Junior Honor Society induction

The students are from left to right, are: Mark Geerdes, Rhonda Schuh, Katey Lutz, Kelly Heck, Shelene Head, Cassie Vollhaber and Johanna Weidenborner.1 / 2
The students are from left to right, are: Cole Koisti, Megan Hudec, Shannon Head, Lindsey Duresky, Breanna Salmonson, Cheyanne Franks, Philip Anderson, Sydney Preston and Joseph Weidenborner.2 / 2

On March 12, three students were inducted into the National Honor Society and nine students inducted into the National Junior Honor Society at Kelliher Public School. Those students were junior Rhonda Schuh and sophomores Mark Geerdes and Kelly Heck. The new inductees join Alisha Gehlert, Katey Lutz, Shelene Head, Johanna Weidenborner and Cassie Vollhaber.

In the NJHS, the new members are freshmen Cheyanne Franks, Shannon Head, Breanna Salmonson, eighth graders Megan Hudec, Philip Anderson, Lindsey Duresky, Cole Koisti, Joseph Weidenborner and seventh grader Sydney Preston. They join Danielle Nistler, Nathan Anderson, Mandy Pula and Steven Mayers.

The induction ceremony was held on March 12 at 9 a.m. at the Kelliher School with middle and high school students, staff, parents and grandparents in attendance. Erin Lowe (Lundin) of Kelliher, was the guest speaker and also a former NHS member from Kelliher. A brunch was served after the ceremony made by the Kelliher cooks and March 25 at West Wind Supper Club, there will be a celebration banquet.

There are five areas that students are assessed in to be considered for candidacy -- academics, leadership, service, character, and citizenship. Students must first pass the academics (a grade point average of 3.2 or better) to be considered for candidacy.

Eligible candidates then fill out an activity form and turn it in. Eligible candidates are also given a numerical rating by their teachers in the areas of leadership, service, and character. The faculty council then meets to review information gathered and vote. Students win with a majority vote.