Weather Forecast


Blackduck Speech News

Junior high Speech results

The Blackduck Speech Team hosted a junior high tournament Feb. 6 then traveled to Cass Lake for the second junior high conference meet of the year Feb. 13 with many of the junior high speakers earning individual honors in both meets.

In the Blackduck meet, blue ribbons were earned by Rose Thompson and Tobey Haluptzok in Duo; Mackenzie Stenson and Ashley Lossing, also in Duo and Julianna Fernandez in Poetry.

Red ribbons went to Sasha Pfannenstein and Julia Bogucki, both in Drama; Tanner Templin in Great Speeches; Adam Jacobi in Informative Speaking; Brittany Martin in Original Oratory; Emma Stelton in Prose and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling and white ribbons were won by Maddie Stomberg in Creative Expression and Tanner George in Original Oratory.

At the Cass Lake-Bena meet, individual winners included two champions -- Julia Bogucki in Drama and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling. Second place medals went to Tanner Templin in Great Speeches and Julianna Fernandez in Poetry, while a third place medal was awarded to Brittany Martin in Original Oratory.

Honorable mention winners were Madison Stomberg in Creative Expression; Dimitrius Haro in Discussion, Sasha Pfannenstein and Kelsie Murray, both in Drama; and Andrew Nissen and Kyle Michalek in Duo.

Drakes take sixth in Park Rapids

The speech team travelled to Park Rapids Feb. 18 to compete in a very difficult 21 team tournament. The Drakes came in sixth place with many individual winners.

Tournament champion for the Drakes was Matthew Jedlicka in Drama.

Other finalists finishing in the hardware were Sasha Pfannenstein taking third place in Drama and Madison Stomberg - fourth in Creative Expression.

Finalists earning blue ribbons for superior speaking were Madison Stelton in Creative Expression and Michaela Holmgren and Kristie Slindee - both in Storytelling.

The tournament also held an Honors Final where the Drakes had a second champion with Katie O'Rourke in Prose. Trey Volk placed second in Original Oratory, while third place honors went to Maddy Liapis in Informative and Shalynne Bogucki in Poetry.

Other Honors Finalist ribbon winners were Chance Gourley in Discussion; Julia Bogucki in Drama; Morgan Jung and Tyler Dobmeier - both in Great Speeches; Jenna Nestberg in Humor; Lynn Masino in Informative; Maile Olson in Original Oratory; and Matthew Jedlicka in Poetry.

Congratulations to the Drakes speakers for another outstanding week of performances.