Weather Forecast


White Earth gears up for primary election

WHITE EARTH - The White Earth Primary Election will be from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Elected positions to be filled are Chairperson and District III Representative.

The two candidates receiving the most votes for each the chairperson and District III representative positions will move on to the June 12 general election. However, if a candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes, that person will be declared the winner.

Candidates running for chairperson are Erma J. Vizenor (incumbent), Kenneth M. Coleman Jr., Sally Littlewolf, Karen M. Manypenny, and Char Lee-Ovaldson.

Candidates running for District III representative are Kenneth "Gus" Bevins (incumbent), Tara R. Mason, Martha Williams, Mike T. Smith, Mike "Stink" Bevins, and Paul A. Soyring.

The community is invited to view the election results starting at 8 p.m. Tuesday at the Golden Eagle Bingo Hall in Mahnomen.

For more information on the election, individuals are encouraged to call the White Earth Election Board at (218) 936-5622 or (866) 211-9154 weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. or 8 a.m. to noon Saturday. The election office is located in the old RV registration building located behind the Shooting Star Casino.