Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Miss Teen of Minnesota scholarship and recognition pageant

Kristie Slindee of Blackduck, recently participated in the Miss Teen of Minnesota pageant and was honored as one of six merit finalists and a member of the honor court. Shown here are, from left to right: her mother, Kari; Kristie; her sister, Katie and her father, Phil.

Kristie Slindee, daughter of Phil and Kari Slindee and granddaughter of Jean Slindee, all of Blackduck, was among the candidates competing for the title of Miss Teen of Minnesota at the state pageant, which was held July 22-24 in St. Cloud.

Each state candidate was scored in six judging categories, which were: scholastic record, achievement and service to school and community, general awareness written test, personal development of talents and skills, personality projection in formal wear and interview.

"This pageant truly represents the young women of the 21st Century. Sixty percent of the scoring involves written resumes and testing, with the strongest single category being the interview with the judges," said National Pageant Founder Warren Alexander.

The state pageant finals were held July 24 in the Atwood Center on the St. Could State University Campus. The event was open to the public. Special guests included the former Miss Teen of Minnesota, Casey Boerner of Watertown.

The winner of the pageant, Megan Smith of Eden Prairie received a $1,000 cash scholarship and a $500 U.S. Savings Bond. Smith will be eligible to compete for the national title of Miss Teen of America and vie for additional scholarship, awards and prizes.

Slindee was one of the six merit finalists and a member of the honor court. She received a recognition plaque and medallion. Attending the finals were her parents, her sister, Katie Slindee, her grandmothers, Jean Jirik and Slindee, her aunt, Karlajean Becvar, aunt and uncle, Kim and Joe Washa, cousins, Deanna and Mike Riker andMichael Washa andher friends, Megan Luukkonen, Julianna Ross, Nicole Eck, Mary Joy and Tess Hendrickson.