Weather Forecast


Blackduck Speech News

The Drakes Speakers continue to have a winning season!

On March 5 at the Walker tournament, 12 Blackduck speakers advanced to the finals and honors finals with many winners.

Finalists included: Brandon Beck (third in Informative), Shannon Budde (fourth in Creative Expression), Tyler Dobmeier (fourth in Great Speeches), Ian Anderson (fourth in Original Oratory) and Kristie Slindee (fifth in Storytelling).

Earning a spot in honors finals were: Charles Biberg (honors champion in Discussion), Kate Olafson (honors champion in Poetry), Nick Liapis (second in Great Speeches), Maile Olson (second in Original Oratory), Matt Jedlicka (third in Drama), Emily Biberg (fifth in Humor) and Connor Cease (sixth in Drama).

Red ribbon winners were Madison Stelton in Creative Expression, Connor Cease and Chris O'Reilly in Duo, Alex Schuman in Humor, Miguel Ocampo in Poetry, and Katie O'Rourke and Alayna Nestberg -- both in Prose.

At the junior high tournament in Pequot Lakes March 8, the team took home the championship with many medal and ribbon winners!

Earning first place for the junior high team were Julianna Fernandez in Creative Expression, Chance Gourley in Discussion and Kristie Slindee in Storytelling.

Second place medalists were Mariah Bremer in Informative Speaking and Mike O'Reilly in Original Oratory.

Third place medals went to Kristina Johnson in Extemp Reading, Madison Liapis in Informative Speaking, Maile Olson in Original Oratory and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling.

And honorable mention winners were Jenna Nestberg in Humor and Sasha Pfannenstein and Julia Bogucki -- both in Drama.

The Blackduck High School speech team brought home the first place trophy from the tournament at Eveleth-Gilbert High School March 12.

Blackduck medalists included champions Shannon Budde in Creative Expression, Charles Biberg in Discussion, Matthew Jedlicka in Drama, Nick Liapis in Great Speeches, Brandon Beck in Informative Speaking and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling.

In second place, Ian Anderson in Original Oratory, Katie O'Rourke in Prose and Kristie Slindee in Storytelling.

In third place, Tyler Dobmeier in Great Speeches and Kate Olafson in Poetry.

Other finalists were Madison Stelton in Creative Expresssion, Alex Howard and Chance Gourley in Discussion, Sasha Pfannenstein in Drama, Connor Cease and Chris O'Reilly in Duo, Morgan Jung and James Bruno -- both in Great Speeches, Mariah Bremer in Informative Speaking, Maile Olson, Justin Chase, and Mike O'Reilly -- all in Original Oratory, Miguel Ocampo in Poetry and Tessa Tindell in Prose.

Honorable Mention winners were Julia Bogucki, Brock and Chris Howard, Alex Schuman in Humor and Shalynne Bogucki in Poetry.

The final junior high tournament of the season was at Walker March 15 - where tournament winners and conference champions were named. Blackduck's Madison Stomberg received both the tournament championship and the conference championship honors with top scores in the category of Creative Expression.

Other tournament winners were Chance Gourley, Sasha Pfannenstein, Jenna Nestberg, Madison Liapis, Mariah Bremer, Maile Olson, Mike O'Reilly, Kristie Slindee and Michaela Holmgren.