Weather Forecast


Blackduck Speech News

Drakes champion team after the Fosston tournament.1 / 3
Fosston gold medalists were Tyler Dobmeier, Kate Olafson and Katie O'Rourke.2 / 3
The American Legion benefit dinner for the Speech team was deemed a big success.3 / 3

The Blackduck Drakes Speech team is off to a great start for the 2011 season with four tournaments and a winning record!

The captains for the season are Kate Olafson and Charles Biberg. They are also captains of the Hot Pink squad. Connor Cease and Chris O'Reilly are captains of the Lime Green squad; Ian Anderson and Shannon Budde are captains of the Sky Blue squad; Alex Schuman and Brock Howard are captains of the Purple squad and Alayna Nestberg is captain of the Red squad.

The team competes in squad challenges against each other as well as united against other teams throughout the season in an effort to keep everyone sharp and performing at their peak.

Grand Rapids Early Bird tournament, Jan. 22

Individual winners were: Shannon Budde and Maddy Stomberg in Creative Expression; Charles Biberg and Alex Howard in Discussion; Matthew Jedlicka, Connor Cease and Sasha Pfannenstein in Drama; Connor Cease, Chris O'Reilly, Brock Howard and Chris Howard in Duo; Tyler Dobmeier in Great Speeches; Emily Biberg in Humor; Brandon Beck and Lynn Masino in Informative; Maile Olson in Original Oratory; Kate Olafson and Courtney Kovall in Poetry; Katie O'Rourke in Prose and Kristie Slindee and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling.

Blackduck junior high tournament, Feb. 15

Individual winners were: Maddy Stomberg and Julianna Fernandez in Creative Expression; Chance Gourley in Discussion; Sasha Pfannenstein in Drama; Kristina Johnson in Extemp Reading; Jenna Nestberg and Tobey Haluptzok in Humor; Maddy Liapis in Informative; Maile Olson in Original Oratory and Kristie Slindee and Michaela Holmgren in Storytelling.

Fosston varsity tournament, Feb. 12

The Drakes were the tournament champions by a large margin with many individual winners including ribbon winners Connor Cease in Drama, Hannah Korpela and Brittany Martin in Duo Novice, Maddy Liapis and Mariah Bremer -- both in Informative, Ian Anderson in Original Oratory and Kristie Slindee in Storytelling.

Bronze medal winners were Alex Howard in Discussion, Alex Schuman in Humor, Courtney Kovall in Poetry and Alayna Nestberg in Prose.

Silver medal winners were Charles Biberg in Discussion, Matthew Jedlicka in Drama, Connor Cease and Chris O'Reilly in Duo, Emily Biberg in Humor and Brandon Beck in Informative.

Gold medal champions were Tyler Dobmeier in Great Speeches, Kate Olafson in Poetry and Katie O'Rourke in Prose.

Following the Fosston tournament, the American Legion Auxiliary hosted the annual meatloaf dinner fund-raiser for the speech team.

There was a meal and a chance for the speech team to visit with members of the community and show their awards. It is always a fun event and a dinner that helps the speech team to provide new scripts for speakers as well as visual aids and other needed materials and travel opportunities and awards later in the season.

The speech team continues its competitive season with many upcoming tournaments and events.