Weather Forecast


Dayton names chief of staff

ST. PAUL -- Minnesota Gov.-elect Mark Dayton's new chief of staff has held the title before, albeit on a smaller stage.

Dayton gave the top assignment today to Tina Flint Smith, who was previously chief of staff to Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak.

Her selection was among a slate of senior leaders -- all women -- the Democrat announced.

Three deputy chiefs of staff will be Dana Anderson, Andrea Mokros and Michelle Kelm-Helgen. All three helped Dayton during parts of the recent campaign.

The picks are part of a rapid buildout of Dayton's administration, which will take the reins on Jan. 3. Dayton became the governor-elect this week when Republican Tom Emmer conceded.

On Thursday, Dayton said he was retaining Tom Sorel as Department of Transportation commissioner.

Tags: daily updates, mark dayton, mn politics, chief of staff, news, politics