Weather Forecast


Local math students compete in math contest

Freshman Caleb Mostad accepting the Junior Division Team Competition Plaque from BSU mathematics head Dr. Randy Westhoff.1 / 3
Sophomore Shane Fenske accepting his individual medal from BSU mathematics head Dr. Randy Westhoff.2 / 3
Senior Ben Ware accepting his individual medal. Presenter in all pictures is BSU mathematics head Dr. Randy Westhoff.3 / 3

On Oct.28, Blackduck High School competed in the 38th Annual Northern Minnesota Mathematics Contest hosted by Bemidji State University. There were 516 competitors from 20 schools.

The Junior Division consisted of 242 ninth and 10th graders and 272 in the senior division, comprised of 11th and 12th graders.

Congratulations to all of Blackduck's team members. Blackduck's ninth and 10th grade team finished fourth with Shane Fenske, Caleb Mostad, and Kristee Slindee receiving special recognition and Blackduck's 11th and 12th grade team finished fifth with Ben Ware, Brandon Beck, and Charles Biberg receiving special recognition.

Individual awards were given to those who recorded the top ten scores in each division. Blackduck had one student in the top ten in each division.

In the junior division, Fenske received a medal for recording the ninth highest score in the junior division, while Ware received a medal for recording the eighth highest score in the senior division.

Ninth and 10th grade competitors

Ben Brooks 10

Caleb Mostad 9

Carmen Imdieke 10

Chance Gourley 9

Courtney Kovall 10

Dominic Anderson 10

Emily Biberg 10

Jacob Krabbenhoft 9

James Bruno 10

Jordan Sparby 9

Katie O'Rourke 10

Kristee Slindee 9

Madison Liapis 9

Maile Olson 9

Mariah Bremer 9

Mike O'Reilly 9

Morgan Jung 10

Riley Miller 9

Shalynne Bogucki 10

Shane Fenske 10

Tatum Mistic 10

Trey Volk 9

Tyler Dobmeier 10

11th and 12th grade competitors

Alex Howard 12

Alex Ziegler 11

Ben Ware 12

Brandon Beck 12

Brock Howard 12

Celene Bodien 11

Charles Biberg 12

Erin Haws 12

James Campbell-Eckdahl 12

Kate Olafson 12

Lucas Krabbenhoft 11

Nick Liapis 12

Nolan Vorderbruggen 11