Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Dayton wins Beltrami County

Former U.S. Sen. Mark Dayton won the favor of Beltrami County Democrats in final unofficial results from Tuesday's gubernatorial primary.

Dayton scored 1,505 votes or 40.7 percent while House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher took 1,386 votes or 37.5 percent. Former House Minority Leader Matt Entenza drew 745 votes, or 20.2 percent, slightly better than his state average.

It was Entenza who campaigned most in Bemidji, making more than a half dozen visits, including two in the final week and on Monday. His wife, Lois, also campaigned for him twice.

Kelliher made only one official visit to Bemidji, several weeks ago to laud the potential Headwaters Science Center push for new facilities along the Mississippi River. She also came to Bemidji when the State DFL Central Committee endorsed her running mate, John Gunyou. She had no ublic appearances that day.

Dayton, the county's pick, only made a February visit to Bemidji State University, where he met with about 20 students.

Voting by Beltrami County voters in contested races include:

--U.S. Congress 7th District--

-- Republican

Alan Roebke, 258, 38.4 pct

Lee Byberg (e), 414, 61.6 pct

--U.S. Congress 8th District--


W.D. (Bill) Hamm, 215, 19.3 pct

Jim Oberstar (e), 899, 80.7 pct

--Governor-lieutenant governor--

E Independence

Tom Horner and James Mulder (e), 50, 47.2 pct

Phil Ratte and Gayle-Lynn Lemaster, 19, 17.9 pct

Rahn Workcuff and Mark Workcuff, 12, 11.3 pct

John Uldrich and Stephen Williams, 14, 13.2 pct

Rob Hahn and Thomas Harens, 11, 10.4 pct

E Republican

Ole Savior and Todd "Elvis" Anderson, 37, 3 pct

Leslie Davis and Gregory Soderberg, 74, 6 pct

Bob Carney Jr. and William McGaughey, 89, 7.2 pct

Tom Emmer and Annette Meeks (e), 1,024, 83.7 pct


Margaret Anderson Kelliher and John Gunyou (e), 1,386, 37.5 pct

Peter Idusogie and Lady Jayne Fontaine, 59, 1.6 pct

Matt Entenza and Robyne Robinson, 745, 20.2 pct

Mark Dayton and Yvonne Prettner Solon, 1,505, 40.7 pct

--Secretary of State--

-- DFL

Dick Franson, 551,16.1 pct

Mark Ritchie (e), 2,875, 83.9 pct

--Attorney General--

-- Republican

Chris Barden (e), 607, 52.7 pct

Sharon Anderson, 545, 47.3 pct

-- DFL

Leo Meyer, 511, 14.9 pct

Lori Swanson (e), 2,915, 85.1 pct

--Minnesota House 4A--

-- DFL

John Persell (e), 1,253, 62.3 pct

Mark Thorson, 760, 37.8 pct