Weather Forecast


Late filings force two Beltrami races

It seemed as though no Beltrami County races would be contested, but 11th hour filings Tuesday will see a rematch for sheriff and a challenger for Commissioner Jack Frost.

Bill Cross will force a rematch of the 2006 election in opposing Sheriff Phil Hodapp. Hodapp defeated Cross, then a Beltrami County deputy, by nearly 1,400 votes or 54 percent to 46 percent.

Cross is currently chief deputy for Wadena County. He worked for the Beltrami County Sheriff's Department from 1974 to 1998, rising to chief deputy. He was terminated from his job under Sheriff DeeWayne Rognstad, but was exonerated after an appeal.

Rognstad later supported Cross in his 2006 election bid. After leaving Beltrami County, he worked for the Cass Lake Police Department for two years before returning to the county. After the election, he went to work for Wadena County.

In the County Board District 1 race, Sally Fineday of Pennington filed Tuesday to challenge Commissioner Jack Frost, a Lake Andrusia resort owner.

Fineday is executive director of Native Vote Alliance of Minnesota, which was instrumental in gaining high voter turnout on the Leech Lake and Red Lake reservations for the 2008 presidential election.

No other challengers filed, leaving unopposed on the fall ballot Commissioner Joe Vene, Commissioner Jim Heltzer, County Auditor-Treasurer Kay Mack, County Attorney Tim Faver, and Jay Frenzel for supervisor of Beltrami Soil and Water Conservation's District 1.

The District 2 seat was unfilled.

Cass County

Neal Gaalswyk and Ken Laporte for District 1 commissioner; Robert Kangas, Phil Kinnunen and Edward "Ed" Nelson for District 2 commissioner; Jim Dowson and Bob Moore for District 4 commissioner.

Kathryn "Katie" Norby for county recorder; Tom Burch, Garr Pemberton, Wayne Tennis and Chris Thompson for county sheriff; Chris Strandlie for county attorney.

Tom Kuschel for District 1 supervisor and Willard Pehling for District 5 supervisor to the Cass County Soil and Water Conservation District Board.

Clearwater County

Eugene Cole, Duane Hayes, Sid Michel and Michael Nelson for District 1 commissioner; John Chevalier and Cayke Halberg for District 3 commissioner; Scott Bakke and Daniel Stenseng for District 5 commissioner.

Allen Paulson as county auditor; Angie Abraham and Charlene Olson for county treasurer; Brenda Knable for county recorder; Michael Erickson and John Sutherland for county sheriff; Jeanine Brand, Jesse Mickels and Richard Mollin for county attorney.

Paul Rydeen as District 3 supervisor for the Clearwater Soil and Water Conservation District Board. District 4 supervisor is unfilled.

Hubbard County

Sherman Anderson, Don "Doc" Carlson, E.P. "Ed" DeLaHunt and Kathy McGrane for District 1 commissioner; Floyd Frank and Gregory Larson for District 3 commissioner; Cal Johannsen for District 5 commissioner.

Cory Aukes and Frank Homer for county sheriff; Don Dearstyne and Nathaniel Welte for county attorney.

W.R. "Bill" Clausen for District 5 supervisor for Hubbard Soil and Water Conservation Board, with Donald Sells for District 4 supervisor.

City of Bemidji

Several people filed Tuesday, creating an Aug.10 primary in every face but Ward 4 City Council.

Mayoral candidates include City Councilor Ron Johnson, David Lalone, Dave Larson, Laverne "Pedie" Pederson and Adam Steele.

Councilor at-large candidates are Linda Lemmer, Byron Rock and Jim Thompson.

Councilor Ward 2 candidates are incumbent Councilor Roger Hellquist, Reed Olson and Richard Sathers.

Ward 4 candidates are incumbent Councilor Jerry Downs and Rita Albrecht.