Weather Forecast


Red Lake election filings closed

The Red Lake Nation election day will be Wednesday, May 19, with polls open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and absentee ballots due by 8 p.m. that day.

The certified election results will be posted Thursday, May 20. Tuesday, May 25, will be the deadline for contesting the election. Friday, June 4, will be the deadline for General Elec-tion Board to rule on requests, if any, for election contests.

If uncontested, the runoff election must be held before Saturday, July 24. If contested, the runoff election must be held before Aug. 3. A run-off election will be held for any office that a single candidate does not attain 50 percent plus one of the votes tallied.

Candidates are as follows:

E Chairman - Timothy J. Beaulieu Sr., Edward D. Cook, Floyd "Buck" Jourdain, incum-bent, Patricia Ann Owens, Mary Ringhand, Judy Roy.

E Treasurer - Darrell G. Seki Sr., incumbent, running unopposed.

E Secretary - Kathryn "Jody" Beaulieu, incumbent, Geraldine "Jaye" Brun, Mi-chael J. Cobenais, Don Cook Sr., Lee Lussier Jr., Donovan M. May, Donald M. Roy, Cheryl A. Schoenborn, Jim White.

E Ponemah District Repre-sentative - Victoria R. (Cloud) Fineday, Jeff Kingbird, Randall "Jiggs" Kingbird, Williamette Morrison, Gary L. Nelson Sr., incumbent.

E Redby District Representative - John W. Dudley, Maureen Thunder Lyons, Michael G. Stillday, Julius "Toady" Thunder, Thomas "Jambi" Westbrook-incumbent.

E Red Lake District Representative - Donald "Don Dez" Desjarlait Sr., incumbent, Donald "Wheat" Graves, Frank J. Johns, Deanna K. Lasley, Kathleen Roberts Neadeau, Ronald E. Skinaway Sr., Ro-man Stately Jr.

E Little Rock District Repre-sentative - Harlan R. Beaulieu, Katherine "Spears" Dudley, William "Billy" Greene, incum-bent, Ronald "Ron" Lussier, Karen Norris-Barrett,

Red Lake Band of Chippewa has an 11-member tribal coun-cil of three officers and two representatives from each district community. All offices are for four-year terms.